Links Lundi

Jan Berenstain, co-creator of “Berenstain Bears,” died recently and NPR had a lovely little interview with her son, who had been illustrating the books with her since the 80s. (via Nisaba Be Praised)

A massage therapist’s take on why you should feel good about your body: “Your successes hold your shoulders high. Your losses pull your chest inward. You hold your sadness in your throat, your anger in your jaw and your fear in your belly. Your happiness rises and falls in your chest. Love rolls in and out on the tides of your breath. It’s all there, all the time.”

A mourner (and brand-new blogger who was Freshly Pressed on her first go) writes about how Whitney Houston’s successes and struggles mirrored what she sees in black girls and women everywhere.

On dressing confidently: “There came a point in my life when I realized I needed to have grace with myself…I will not convince myself that they make me undyingly happy, and I will not daydream about growing a brand new set of boobs. Instead, I will learn how to dress them appropriately to make me comfortable, and I will walk with confidence.”

The world’s first English-language blog dedicated to vegan food from North Korea.  Too bad those red jelly flowers are dedicated to Kim Jong Il because they look pretty tasty… (via Interrobangs Anonymous)

Is Jane Austen Only For White People?  Before someone’s head explodes: no, or at least it shouldn’t be.

Andi’s 70-year-old father returns to college to develop writing skills for his memoir, and in his first creative writing class churns out a sweet piece about the many meanings of “mole.”

I know about as much about high fashion as I do about quantum physics, but I loved this Temperley collection from London’s Fashion Week.

Why you may want to be careful with Pinterest, and how it may change in the future.

2 thoughts on “Links Lundi

Leave a Reply

