Cardi-Free Week: Day 2 & 3

It’s been so warm I don’t even know what to do with myself.  It’s not always sunny, but the temperature is generally in the mid-60s, and my body doesn’t even know what’s going on.  It doesn’t matter what layers I wear to work because within an hour, the inside temperature has reached 72 and I don’t even need the top layer.

So, sadly, this blazer didn’t actually get worn much.

Blazer: Semantiks, from Nordstrom
Tee: Nordstrom Rack
Jeans: Thrifted, from LOFT
Shoes: Famous Footwear
Necklace: gift
Headband: Fuego

Kinda trendy, yes?  I’m not remotely interested in the neon thing, but this electric-blue shirt comes fairly close, and pairing it with the black blazer tones it down a bit.

Yeah, okay, it’s not really neon.

Plus the whole outfit is black and blue and the world didn’t implode.

For the next outfit I tried to work in some more closet orphans, specifically the vest and shirt.  And the necklace.  And the earrings.  Actually, I wore those earrings mainly for belly-dance performances, so it felt a little weird wearing them for work.  I forgot to take closeups but they’re similar to these.

Shirt: Old Navy
Vest: Maurices
Jeans: LEI from Macy’s
Shoes: Famous Footwear
Belt: Romy
Tee: Target
Necklace & Earrings : JC Penny

I really want to like button-down shirts because they’re versatile and classy, but I just don’t.  I don’t like the cuffs and the way they wrinkle up so easily, and they’re always a pain to shop for.  I own a few just because they’re good professional-wear basics, but I rarely wear them.

The layering worked well again, and I like the overall look, but I felt a little too…Western.  So I goofed off a bit:

Sheriff Laura: srs bznss.

That and I was bored with my poses.

Vote for me, y’all.

This is an excellent time for my coworkers to have recently discovered my blog.  ‘Sup, guys.

2 thoughts on “Cardi-Free Week: Day 2 & 3

  1. Sheriff Laura 2012! I know who I’m voting for, and it ain’t the other guy in the lace vest.

    (I too have a troubled relationship with button-front shirts–I love the aesthetic and desperately want to layer them under sweaters for that preppy look in cold weather, but have yet to successfully manage a combination of the two that came out any way other than lumpy and uncomfortable.)

    • Oh man, that should be incorporated into the presidential race – who looks better in the lace vest? If the lady candidates get criticized for their looks, seems fair that the reverse should be true as well.

      I have trouble with the buttoned-shirts-under-sweaters look, too. Buttoned shirts are already so stiff and structured that putting them under another shirt just ends up feeling like I’m wearing a paper bag or something. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t, but it doesn’t-work often enough to discourage me.

Leave a Reply

