Cardi-Free Week: Days 4 & 5

Yesterday was Payroll Day, ie. the craziest day of the month.  Or rather, one the four craziest days of the month, because that’s how the pay schedule works.  Only two of those days are less crazy than others because there are fewer employees getting paid on those days.  Only yesterday was not one of those days.

Anyway, yesterday was crazy, and this is what I wore:

Blazer: Rampage, from Macy’s
Jeans: LEI, from Macy’s
Top: Glima, from Nordstrom Rack
Shoes: Famous Footwear
Necklace: Nordstrom

Not sure whether or not to admit that the blazer is from high school.  Hey, blazers are classics, right?  This one should be wearable until shoulder pads come back.

I intended to wear a skirt on Friday, but then my boss told me Thursday afternoon that there would be Ikea furniture to put together “if I wanted to” (which, okay, great, but he’s my boss, so that means “put this furniture together for me”).

Hence, more jeans.

Top: LOFT, thrifted
Jeans: also LOFT, thrifted
Cami: Costco (oh yeah)
Shoes: Famous Footwear
Necklace: gift, by Skye Dancer
Belt: Forever 21

The necklace was a gift from my boss a couple years ago, when I was temping for an environmental agency in Oregon.  I’ve been really lucky with my employment since graduating (and I’m not just saying that because you’re reading my blog now, Boss).  First of all, I am employed, the opposite of which is a major source of stress for a lot of folks my age.  Second, I’ve worked with and for some pretty cool people, like the environmental folks who bought me coffee and gave me and the other admins sweet presents and even brought us all flowers for Administrative Professionals Week.  Now I work at a place that sells hazmat suits and smoke bombs, and I have a lot of responsibility and variety in my work, and I can stick with a part-time schedule so I can write.  And I finally feel (mostly) comfortable in my dressier-than-it-needs-to-be work wear.  Woohoo!

Man, the sun really brings out my good side, doesn’t it.  If anyone wants a big favor from me, ask now, before it starts raining again.

4 thoughts on “Cardi-Free Week: Days 4 & 5

  1. Quick–come to California and petsit my cat so I can take off on an impromptu vacation! Also pretend to be me at work, I’m sure they won’t notice.

    Wait, no, pet-sitting means you would see how filthy my house is. Plan scrapped.
    WaInstead, I will bring my new juicer to your house so you can wash it for me, because driving a couple states away still sounds like less work than dismantling the juicer to wash it.

    (P.S. Skye Dancer has some pretty cool jewelry, lucky you! I don’t think I have a single coworker who even understands what Etsy is.)

    • Don’t you have pink hair at the moment? That’ll make pretending to be you a little bit trickier.

      Road-tripping to get your juicer washed sounds like an excellent indie movie premise.

      I’m not entirely sure my coworkers know about Etsy, either, but that artist is based in Portland so I think she sells in shops ’round those parts. I just googled the name on the packaging and found out she was also on Etsy – which was a nice discovery, because yeah, she has some neat stuff!

  2. Don’t envy you dealing with payroll. The fashion Mister is an accountant at a factory and other than, monthly reports, quarterly reports, annual reports…payroll days are his least favourite!
    You are lucky girl, not only do you get to wear jeans to work but you have great, long legs!
    I’m sooooo jealous!
    Cheers,
    Laura

    • Thank you! :) I sometimes miss my slacks and nice skirts – my office is the epitome of casual – but I do love me my jeans and heels!

Leave a Reply

