Links Lundi

The most beautiful six words I’ve ever read: Mumford & Sons acoustic bookshop sessions. (ETA: now with the actual video. Whoops.)

Wait, no, these are the most beautiful six seven words: David Tennant in an Alan Furst adaptation!

Prep for bikini season by relishing your dessert, emulating a movie star, getting to the root of why you want to lose weight, and lots more.  (My favorite lesson, applicable for all sorts of occasions: pick a part of your body you love, then do something nice for it.  I would treat my lips to new lipstick!)

Female Friends Spend Raucous Night Validating The Living Shit Out Of Each Other: “We just kept telling her how f***ing talented and beautiful she was until eventually the restaurant had to ask us to leave.”

How to be more dignified, which actually goes hand-in-hand with how to not be a jerk.

A Five-Step Guide To Effective Philanthropy, which is a really intimidating title for an article that’s just going to make it really, really easy to donate to a good cause.

In between Gary Ross dropping out of “Catching Fire” and Lionsgate making an offer to a new director, The Mary Sue came up with a list of 15 possible female directors before the studio picked another dude.  Ross did an awesome job on “The Hunger Games” while not being a woman, but…was the guy who directed “Water for Elephants” (okay, and “I Am Legend”) really the best they could find?  I was pulling for Kathryn Bigelow.

We’ve kind of sort of probably decided to maybe try to get a house next year.  Part of me is going YES FINALLY and another part of me is going WHAT NO WE ARE NOT OLD ENOUGH OR RICH ENOUGH OR RESPONSIBLE ENOUGH AND ALSO WEEDS.  In spite of my turmoil, I am also the tiniest bit excited about things like decorating.  Chelsie’s awesome guest-room redo with its DIY styling definitely inspires me.

Last week’s FBFF was a discussion of “thinspo,” but I didn’t write anything about it because I couldn’t make my brain do anything more thorough than “thinspo is bad,” so instead, read what everyone else wrote.

3 thoughts on “Links Lundi

  1. I have trouble thinking about thinspiration coherently, much less writing about it. Blood-red rage might be an accurate description. So I appreciate reading about it from people who are capable of putting their thoughts into words, even if I might feel more strongly than they necessarily do.

    • Blood-red rage about covers it. That and I couldn’t think of anything that hasn’t already been said, and everyone who would read it is likely to agree with me already. So it was all-around disheartening.

Leave a Reply

