Unrelated: today we reached a record high temperature.

I don’t usually check on the search terms that have led people to my blog, but today one caught my eye – “zuko/aang nc-17.” At first it was funny, but the more I think about it, the more I worry about humanity.

So, to the person who’s hunting for that: please stop.

Back to business. I made a lot of progress cleaning out my room today. I cleaned out some of the 500 pencils that had accumulated during my life – somehow the pencils I had in elementary school have managed to stay with me all this time. Some of them had been sharpened on both ends, and some of them had been sharpened so much they aren’t even usable unless you’re in need of hand cramps.

I hope my younger self didn't just stand there sharpening this for five minutes, but I probably did.

I hope my younger self didn't just stand there sharpening this for five minutes, but I probably did.

I also found a gift from last year – What Would Pirate Do?

IMG_2858

Well, Pirate, what would you do about Ireland and Europe? You’re not a very practical guy, so I can guess your response, but it’s worth a shot –

As I suspected.

As I suspected.

To be fair, I gave it another spin.

That's sort of contingent on the first, don't you think, Pirate?

That's sort of contingent on the first, don't you think, Pirate?

Okay, back to work. I finally found the pouch of necklaces I’d stuck in a completely unrelated box, which meant it was time to sort through my jewelry.

There are 49 pairs of earrings here.

There are 49 pairs of earrings here.

That’s not including the six or seven pairs I decided to get rid of, the two which were broken, and the two pairs of my favorite studs which apparently are missing. One of them was the pair I wore on the trip home, so they must be around somewhere.

Anyway, here’s the finished product:

Organized!

Organized!

Now I’ve moved on to cleaning out my bedside table, which has three drawers of National Geographics and 9th-grade-era dream journals. Whew. It feels good to be getting rid of all this – too bad I’m still surrounded by boxes and things that need to be repacked for when I have a more permanent place to live.

Leave a Reply

