correspondence

Brittneigh (whose name I may someday spell in its original form) posted about the dying art of handwriting. Ironically, I tried to write a letter to my boyfriend this morning (spoiler alert, boyfriend: letter in the mail for you), and for the life of me I couldn’t think of anything to say. I can’t stand writing the typical sappy metaphorical love letter, but I couldn’t come up with anything to write to him because we talk every day anyway. I’m a proponent of letter-writing and I keep correspondence with the Japanese exchange students I met last fall, so it was sad and strange for me to be unable to actually produce a letter. What do you say to someone you talked to over Skype last night, got an email from two hours ago, and will talk to again that evening?

If you’re me, you tell him about the Star Trek clips you’re watching on YouTube, but obviously there are more important things to discuss.

Do you still write letters? To who(m, I am too lazy to look up which is which)? What do you write about?

6 thoughts on “correspondence

  1. I have a lot of problems with this too. Sometimes I write about the ‘deep issues’ (politicy stuff or philosophical stuff) that don’t come up in conversations, or latest obsessions… but then I always feel a little selfish. If you figure out a solution to the letter dilemma you should pass it on!

    • I guess it depends on the person, too. I could (and should) write you a letter of epic proportions. It may involve fake conversations with my cats, but it would be epic.

      Letters certainly shouldn’t make you feel selfish – a letter is basically a very slow conversation, so you do get to express your opinions.

  2. Writing letters can be really hard. I don’t write letters a lot, even though my best friend in the world evers moved to Texas. When I write her, it’s usually “hey, things are good, are things good for you, something funny happened, kloveyoubye.” I like to fill the blank page space with my horribly bad doodles. Doodles NEED to be included in all letters. Maybe that advice will help you.

    • Doodles! I forgot about doodles! That is definitely the solution. Unfortunately they don’t really fit into vry srs boyfriend letters, but still, something to keep in mind.

  3. I used to write acutal letters to my grandma because I was told once that it brightened her day. She used to write about what she had for lunch, so I would usually say something like, “it’s still raining, I have finals next week, had a lovely pasta primevera for lunch.” In reality I’d had a popsicle and a handful of goldfish crackers. Then I started getting emails from her in response to my letter. Even my 80 year old grandma has changed her ways. Now I send her emails about my false dietary habits. She seems to enjoy them.

    • Oh, wow. I don’t think any of my grandparents even own computers. At least the same sentiments are there – it’s like time between encounters and distance between people factor in to what actually constitutes a letter. If I emailed you, it would be a letter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

