Settling in for real

The last eighteen hours or so have been absolutely wonderful. I got a phone call around 9 last night from reception – my luggage had finally arrived! I went straight for my converter/adapter, lugged it downstairs with my laptop and charger, and signed on to AIM and cheered myself up even more by talking to Kevin and Linnaea. I was really having a bad evening, but the stars aligned and even though the common room was fulling chattering guys who may or may not have been drunk, I was able to sit and talk and catch up and oh gosh it was lovely.

This morning, I woke up early and actually got to choose from a variety of clothes to wear! I walked down to St. Patrick’s Street and spent a few minutes in Waterstones (a chain book store – and let me tell you, I am practicing serious self-restraint every time I go in. They have an insane variety of authors I’ve never heard of, and they’re having a buy-2-get-the-3rd-free sale, which I would have taken advantage of if books didn’t cost 9+ euros). Mary met me there and took me to the English Market, which is sort of a miniaturized Pike Place with all kinds of little food shops. The upstairs is an open balcony sort of thing, and it’s all a cafe. I got a scone and mocha, and it was really delicious – their lunches prices were a little steep, but I’m definitely going to stop by later this afternoon and get a snack.

When we finished, we trekked around downtown trying to find a place where we could get my borrowed cell phone working – unfortunately, no one’s able to unlock Siemens-brand phones, so I need to just get my own. Math time: one option is 50 euros plus 50-cents per minute international calling (yikes), or 60 euros with 30 cents per minute. Then Mary drove me back to my apartment. As we were pulling in, she said, “Well, we can’t just leave you all alone for Fourth of July evening.” It took me a while to process that. “Do you eat steak?” she asked. “Oh yes!” I said, and babbled all kinds of thank-yous as I got out of the car. She’s officially on holiday now, but still looking after me. And she’s picking me up again at 6 for dinner! (I’ve no idea what to bring – I think I’ll stick with flowers?)

And finally, some pictures!

Beautiful last view of the States.

Beautiful last view of the States.

IMG_3110
This was my first view of Ireland, sort of. The seats on the Aer Lingus flight were 2-4-2, and I was on the aisle of the 4 section. The window seats were full of high schoolers, but the boys next to me noticed me craning to see out the window and offered to take a picture for me.

And this is Dublin from the top of a double-decker bus.

And this is Dublin from the top of a double-decker bus.

A fun ad in the Dublin train station:
IMG_3116

And here’s the apartment!

Swipe card #1: the hallway.  Cheerful.

Swipe card #1: the hallway. Cheerful.

The kitchen, with a TV and mini lounge area behind me.

The kitchen, with a TV and mini lounge area behind me.

My Irish food purchases include English apple juice, Irish bacon, and Irish cheddar.

My Irish food purchases include English apple juice, Irish bacon, and Irish cheddar.

Speaking of kitchens, does anyone know what this is for?

Speaking of kitchens, does anyone know what this is for?

The bathroom! I'm glad I have my own, but this shower and I are not getting along.

The bathroom! I'm glad I have my own, but this shower and I are not getting along.

My room, which has become considerably more homey with the addition of photos.

My room, which has become considerably more homey with the addition of photos.

My view, with the river below and County Hall across the way.

My view, with the river below and County Hall across the way.

And this is where I work…
IMG_3145

Almost across the street is the UCC campus.

This is the bridge going right over the river into campus.

This is the bridge going right over the river into campus.

It has gardens and everything!

It has gardens and everything!

Even the newer buildings are faithful to the old styles.

Even the newer buildings are faithful to the old styles.

Moving on to St. Finbarr’s Cathedral:
IMG_3133

I loved the details on it.
IMG_3135

IMG_3143

IMG_3144

12 thoughts on “Settling in for real

  1. Wow! That scenery is gorgeous. I’m actually going to Cork and Galway in a few weeks as part of a study abroad for my university. So its great to read about the country before I actually go there from someone who isn’t a guidebook!

  2. OMG yay! I’m so glad you got your luggage and stuff ! And yay for photos. Everything seems a little bit more yours when it’s got your stuff in it, no?
    It looks so beautiful, and also that’s awesome that Mary is kinda taking care of you.

    I have no idea what the spatula thing is for… um, flipping really thick pancakes?

  3. Wow! It is so beautiful there! And it looks like your apartment will be comfy.
    It was good to talk to you yesterday πŸ™‚ I hope you have (had?) a good time tonight-it sounds like Mary is pretty awesome.

  4. This looks so exciting! I can’t wait to read more as your adventures unfold!

    Figures you’d post all this exciting stuff and I’d go straight to your math problem. Get the expensive set up one, unless you’re going to talk less than 70 minutes πŸ™‚

  5. Hi Laura,

    In case no one has told you yet, the kitchen utensil is probably to mash potatoes. It looks like something we used growing up a hundred years ago.
    Enjoy your blog.
    Christine

  6. Pingback: what will be found wandrin’ around? « Ruby Bastille

  7. Pingback: The Hot Pink T-shirt Saga | Ruby Bastille

Leave a Reply

