Food

Well! Today was my birthday and it was actually quite lovely. After we were all settled for our tea break, Kaitlin appeared with a cake and candles! And they all sang “Happy Birthday!” (I may have cried a little.) They even had a card they’d all signed. It was totally unexpected…I mean, I’ve only been working with them for about a week. After work, Valerie, Kaitlin, Cassidy, and I all went to dinner at a restaurant called Liberty Grill, which is sort of an upscale American restaurant. On the way there, we passed a store selling everything tea and coffee, so I know where I’m headed this weekend. The restaurant menu had a lot of burgers, including some more Irish options, like a vegetarian burger made with breaded slices of a very firm cheese. I got fish & chips. 🙂 Dessert was a giant parfait glass filled with ice cream, pecans, and fresh raspberry sauce. After dinner, Kaitlin drove everyone home, which meant I got to see some corners of Cork I wouldn’t normally have access to, including some really beautiful suburban areas with parks and lakes and everything.

A while ago I posted a picture of the meager contents of my refrigerator, but tonight, I thought I’d give you a more detailed tour of the delicious things I’ve been finding in Cork’s grocery stores. My main stops are Centra and Tesco. I pass the Centra every day, which makes it easy for me to stop in and get more milk or whatever, and saves me from having to make huge trips to Tesco, which is sort of a British Wal-Mart. Overall, the emphasis on food here is on freshness and local sources. Eating local and organic is sort of trendy in the US right now, but for the Irish, it’s just common sense. When delicious, healthy, fresh food is being grown half an hour away, why not use it? Restaurant menus are quick to point out that their chicken came from West Cork, or their lamb from…other nearby places whose names I can’t remember. On my part, it means I’ve been devouring fresh fruit, some of it locally grown, some of it from more exciting locales (like Spanish pears).

Bread. Yep.

Bread. Yep.

Made in Ireland, of course. The apple flavor was actually pretty good.

Made in Ireland, of course. The apple flavor was actually pretty good.

One of my favorite chocolate bars. Delish.

One of my favorite chocolate bars. Delish.

I'm getting addicted to these. They're called flapjacks, and they're basically big solid cakes of oats and chocolate. Everything a granola bar should be.

I'm getting addicted to these. They're called flapjacks, and they're basically big solid cakes of oats and chocolate. Everything a granola bar should be.

That's 160 bags of tea. Well, more like 156 at this point, but still.  It cost less than 3 euros, too.

That's 160 bags of tea. Well, more like 156 at this point, but still. It cost less than 3 euros, too.

And the grand finale…

White chocolate and hazelnut spread. I'm sending back as many jars as I can find.

White chocolate and hazelnut spread. I'm sending back as many jars as I can find.

2 thoughts on “Food

  1. its white chocolate nutella! well kinda but it still looks delicious.
    im glad you had a good birthday celebration and got to see more of the country/ city. i think you should have tried to firm cheese vegetarian burger but thats okay i respect your decision to stick to fish and chips.

Leave a Reply

