by the sea

Well, I haven’t moved yet, but I should be able to this week. Turns out my roommate is also leaving for a 2-month construction job in Cameroon, so…there’s that.

This weekend was very pleasant. After exploring Gougane Barra from the last post, we saw a play, “Tom Crean: Antarctic Explorer.” Crean went on three expeditions to Antarctica in hopes of being the first Irishman at the South Pole, but all of them, including Shackleton’s infamous expedition, were near disasters. It’s a one-man show performed by Aiden Dooley, who created the show six years ago. It’s won a few awards and it was deserving of all of them – it’s a brilliant performance, set up as if Crean was telling his life story to some visitors to his pub.

On Saturday, I made the trek up to Shandon, on the north side of the river. Lonely Planet let me down this time – it called Shandon Cork’s Latin quarter, but really, there’s not much up there. The bell tower was magnificent, but not really worth a 20-minute walk across town.

Shandon bells!

Shandon bells!

I've been taking pictures of doors, and this is one of my favorites so far.

I've been taking pictures of doors, and this is one of my favorites so far.

On Sunday I did a test run of the train system. I barely made it onto the train to Cobh, because the walk to the station ended up taking over half an hour. I also needed to stop and help an elderly German couple who needed to find the bus station. (Why do old German people look to me for guidance? This is the second time I’ve been asked for directions in this corner of the world.) At any rate, I caught the train, and in less time that it had taken me to walk to the station, I arrived in Cobh, last stop of the “Titanic” and landing zone for the survivors of the “Lusitania.”

We arrive onto the main street…
IMG_3495

…and look across the street…
IMG_3497

…and walk a little further and look up the hill.
IMG_3498_2

I got a sandwich and just sat on a bench to eat and enjoy the view.

Check out those palm trees! Southern France called, they want their...everything back.

Check out those palm trees! Southern France called, they want their...everything back.

This cathedral was actually started in 1868, and finished around 1915.

This cathedral was actually started in 1868, and finished around 1915.

IMG_3527_2

IMG_3528_2
Towards the end of the day, this kid and his band arrived at the grandstand. They set up and tweaked their instruments and amps for a while, and eventually the singer came to the mic. “We’re nothing if not persistent,” he said. “Our guitar amp has failed, our bass amp has failed, our guitarist has failed…at life…” But they rocked on all the same, and they actually weren’t bad.

Today’s achievement: using the Celsius oven with no discernible symbols and only burning my chicken a very tiny and perfectly acceptable bit.

Other huge and exciting news for today: Valerie invited me to come to LONDON with her for a weekend!!! She was just in Dublin and will be in Edinburgh in a couple weeks, but she found us 4.99-euro plane tickets on an airline that isn’t sketchy, and she knows the hotel we’ll be staying at. She’s spent a lot of time in London and we’ll do all the awesome London shopping – Harrod’s, Portobello Market, all the vintage shops she knows of, the flagship Penney’s…and of course a couple hours of British Museum. I have tried to avoid caps in this very mature, very grown-up blog, but OMG LONDON I AM SO SO SO EXCITED. Phew. Okay.

2 thoughts on “by the sea

    • I love the doors. They always have fun colors, or antique hardware, and lots of times the doorknobs are in the middle.

Leave a Reply

