a good friday

Today somehow felt like a turning point. Yesterday I’d been emailing Jessica, trying to get to the heart of why I wasn’t feeling 100% about work. I realized several paragraphs later that I still wasn’t feeling very challenged, that I’d just been doing the same stuff I’d been doing at Linfield, and I wanted to do more.

Well, ask and ye shall recieve.

The morning started off a little rough when I was assigned to work with the marketing team upstairs, something I hadn’t done yet. In college, I’d been interested in marketing as a career, mostly since it was the only practical English-major career path that didn’t involve teaching. I have great respect for teachers and absolutely no faith in my ability to become one. However, after a few job shadows and communications classes, I decided that a marketing job might be a little too stressful for me. Most of the communications majors I met, and the marketing/advertising people I shadowed, were high-strung and anxious to get ahead and certainly not bad people, just people who didn’t seem to be very happy with what they were doing. And I didn’t want to get sucked into that kind of environment. Still, I’m a creative writing major and quite competent when it comes to commas, and I was pretty excited when the marketing director handed me three pages of brochure copy that needed rewriting. That is the kind of marketing I can handle – a few pages of words that need fixin’. I can go back to my desk and dance with words and return a few minutes later with the next draft.

At first, working with her was a little awkward – she didn’t know what she could expect from me, and I didn’t know exactly what she wanted from me. But by the end of the day, she seemed genuinely impressed by my writing, which certainly made me feel good.

And even though it was hectic and I had to stay half an hour later than usual and there were dreaded deadlines involved, I think it was sort of a turning point in my internship. I got to do something I’d never done before, in an area of the field I hadn’t explored much before, and I didn’t screw up.

(The only hitch was that the Irish don’t believe in hyphens, but whatever.)

I did a little research for this copy and came across a quotation from Lonely Planet about how the Irish people can restore anyone’s faith in humanity. And after today, I wholeheartedly agree. I’ve only been working with them for about a month, but they will laugh with me and complain with me and help me with my housing situation and take me out for dinner and see Harry Potter with me and show me all kinds of kindness I simply wasn’t expecting. Mary is even driving me to Clonakilty tomorrow so I can explore the town while she goes to a spa. They’ve completely opened up to me and given me room to see what I can do, and after today, I’m beginning to think I can do a heck of a lot.

3 thoughts on “a good friday

  1. Exactly what the opportunity was meant to do – stretch you in ways not expected and give you the platform to grow! Fantastic!

  2. I have heard nothing but good things about the Irish.

    Some of my friends got stranded overnight in an airport in Ireland and were getting all settled in to spend the night hungry on uncomfortable airport chairs when some guy came along and invited them to spend the night at his flat and drove these 4 strangers back to his house where his girlfriend cooked a midnight dinner for them and the man woke up at an ungodly early hour to drive them back to the airport. (attack of the run-on sentence)

    I really want to visit this country…

    • Oh man, that’s awesome! For the most part, the Irish I’ve met have been eerily nice. Everyone is interested in your story, and wants to share their story (and their kids’ stories and their friends’ stories and their great-uncles’ stories and their dad’s stories…) and just sit around and chat for a while.

Leave a Reply

