post #175!

It’s not really any particular milestone, but I always forget to check that counter. Now we know!

The last couple days have been horribly, absurdly cold. 17 degrees at night and 35 during the day, if you’re lucky. Normally we try to avoid using the heaters, but even Kevin agrees that we need them right now. Apparently next week, things should return to normal – meaning 40s and raining – but I keep hoping it’ll snow.

I’ve gone to a couple more job interviews, both for temp positions in an office setting, which I would really enjoy. Video Store Job isn’t bad by any stretch of the imagination, but I don’t intend to keep it for very long. I’m hoping I’ll get an offer on these other positions, and then I’ll get to sequester myself behind a desk and sort through files and not worry about impressing customers.

And while I do appreciate the fact that Video Store Job is drama-free, I was sort of hoping that it would produce some entertaining stories. So far, though, things have been pretty quiet. My coworkers are nice, if a little eclectic, and I haven’t had to deal with any crazy customers yet. I will bide my time.

Outside work, things are still pretty quiet. I’m still working on getting the office organized, but I finally put up my bulletin board, along with a few drawings and some cool fashion shoots I tore out of “Vogue.” I’m beginning to realize that this room and I are destined for each other, because the heater mystically turns itself on, even though the controls say it’s off. I won’t complain until the heating bill comes.

We’ve also been putting up some decorations, and we finally got a Christmas tree!

This involved a truly epic battle with the tree stand we inherited, including a visit to the hardware store to get the right parts to hold the bolts in place. But it’s upright, and lighted, and my childhood ornaments are on it, and the cat hasn’t tried to climb it or anything.

Mostly because she sleeps all the time.

We also started what will hopefully be a weekly dinner-party get-together with Breck. For our first meal, we made pulled pork sandwiches, corn bread, and some pretty spectacular cole slaw if I do say so myself. I’ll even give you the recipes!

First up, the cole slaw:
4 cups cole slaw mix (or shredded cabbage/carrots)
1/3 cup mayonnaise
1 1/2 tablespoons sugar
1 tablespoon oil
1 tablespoon vinegar
1/3 teaspoon celery salt
1/2 tablespoon caesar dressing

I generally like sweeter, creamy cole slaw, but this recipe was originally too much of both. It even called for sugar, which I didn’t bother with the second time. I added the caesar dressing the second time for a little more flavor.

Seriously the easiest thing to make in the world – mix everything together and refrigerate it for a little bit. If it’s too sweet, add more vinegar. If it’s too tangy, add more mayonnaise. And if you like it even sweeter, add that tablespoon of sugar.

Next up, corn bread!
1 cup cornmeal
1 cup flour
1 teaspoon cream of tartar (which, I learned, is a natural by-product of wine fermentation, and it stabilizes egg whites. Now you know!)
2 tablespoons brown sugar
3/4 teaspoons salt
1 cup buttermilk (have leftover buttermilk? Make another batch, or throw it in some mashed potatoes with garlic.)
2 eggs
3 tablespoons melted butter

Beat the eggs, add the buttermilk. Sift the flour and add the other dry ingredients.

Add the liquids and the melted butter, and mix.

Pour batter into a greased 8×8 pan and bake 20 minutes at 425.

Okay, onto the pulled pork sandwiches. Honestly, we were flying by the seat of our pants for this one. We looked online to figure out what kind of pork roast we needed, but then the grocery store didn’t have that type. We had to get Jessica to call her dad for the cooking instructions. The whole thing was sort of hodge-podge, but if you trust our collaborative attempt at an actual recipe, here you go:

You’ll need about 3 lbs of pork loin roast, preferably with the fat trimmed. Put it in an over-safe dish and sprinkle it with salt and pepper. Cover the whole dish with foil and cook it at 350 for 2-2 1/2 hours. The rule is basically that it’s done when you can stick a fork in it and easily pull the meat apart. Once it’s done, go at it with forks and shred the whole darn thing. Once it’s all shredded, mix in your favorite barbecue sauce. My favorite is Sweet Baby Ray’s Honey Barbecue.

Final product!

Next time I think I would do the pork differently, maybe cook it for longer at a lower temperature. And Jessica just called saying her instructions said to add a little water to the dish, which we didn’t do. At any rate, this recipe will give you a very tasty pork sandwich.

And now I’m hungry. Tonight’s culinary adventure: turkey burgers!

Let the battle begin!

7 thoughts on “post #175!

  1. Sweet Baby Ray’s! That is basically my all-purpose condiment. I’ve used it for everything from sandwiches to stir-fry. Delicious.

    Your culinary talents are quite impressive!

  2. Pingback: cooking with basil « Ruby Bastille

Leave a Reply

