Seriously, making up titles for blog posts is the hardest part.

Well, it’s the hardest part following actually sitting your butt down after several days of saying “Dang, I should really do a new post.”

I guess it was only five days, but one of the reasons I started this blog was so that I had something to hold me accountable to writing every day. (The cat just declared war on the blankets at the foot of the bed. Nothing provoked her. Kevin has put his book down to watch incredulously: “I’m not even moving!”) Obviously the “every day” thing was a stretch, but I absolutely have to keep to once a week, or I’ll forget my password.

Tomorrow will mark the start of my third day at work, and my first check-in with my supervisor. It’s going really well so far, and it’s infinitely superior to Video Store Job, partly because no one is allowed to wear cat-eye contacts here. Hopefully I’ll be starting my own research project soon, but in the meantime I’m contenting myself with copying and scanning and the usual temp work. Everyone is very nice and very happy to have me do their copying for them, and I even heard my supervisor cuss at her computer, so I think I’ve found a pretty good place to spend the next few months. Kevin and I have worked out our carpool system, and even though it would be nice to run errands during lunch, the hour at my desk is a good excuse for me to work on a new book idea.

And speaking of books…the book I’ve been working on for nearly the last two years has, uh, become ornery. We’re not speaking at the moment. I spent the last month or two trying potential new settings or plot frameworks or characters, anything to make it do what it was supposed to do, but every time I just got frustrated. I’m not writing it off completely (hurr hurr), but I am taking a good long break to work on something else. We even went to Borders this weekend so I could find a good mythology encyclopedia for research, and I found a truly fantastic one on sale for only $5. It covers all the aspects of a myth or a heroic story – the hero’s quest, founders, gods, etc. – and even explores myths by region, like Southeast Asia. Kevin also found a coffee-table book about the history of weaponry, on sale for $10, and I convinced him to get it (aka I got it myself) because it would be excellent research material. (It features a curved dagger from India whose name translates to “the kiss of the scorpion.” How awesome is that?)

So I’ve spent the weekend roaming through these books and playing Fallout 3 (and cleaning the kitchen and finally taking out our Christmas tree). We also brought out the new crockpot (Kevin’s original one was, uh, redistributed when his sister graduated) and made a rather disappointing cheesy beer soup. I am okay with both cheese and beer, and even onions to an extent, but this soup was literally a giant bowl of onion with beer and a little cheese mixed in. Hopefully this week’s chicken fajitas will be more successful.

One last thing – Vanessa over at Chicken Soup for the Dorky Soul has started a project for the new year which is pretty much guaranteed to make you feel better about yourself. See what it’s all about here and send something in!

4 thoughts on “Seriously, making up titles for blog posts is the hardest part.

  1. Yeah, that happened to me in my nobel too. (Not Uninvoked, but my second book still in rough draft format.) The main character was supposed to fall in love with this one guy. She did not. After an enlivening scene where she throws him off of his own horse, steals it and takes off leaving him for dead—I got the message that there was just no chemistry there. I had to invent a new character, his brother, and start from the beginning.

    I’m pretty sure she’s gonna kill her ex-love interest by the end of the book >_>

    • It’s actually kind of fun when your love interests don’t work out. You get to bring in new characters and explore the old ones more. Your heroine sounds pretty fun, though. 🙂

  2. Okay, first of all, my heart fluttered a little (read: a lot) when I saw you linked to my blog. Thank you thank you thank you, my love!

    I never thought of my blog as a way to write every day, but I’d like it to be. I wish I wrote every single day. I really want to be one of those people who puts aside a block of time each day and forces themselves to write. I should be. There’s no reason I can’t. I don’t even know why I don’t feel motivated sometimes, because I totally always feel awesome when I produce something in a word document.

    Oh, right, I just got Spirit Tracks. It’s partially because of that (“but that doesn’t explain the REST of the time when–” BE QUIET). Totally legitimate excuse.

    • No problem! I will try to be better at sending stuff in. 🙂

      One of the writing tips I’ve wanted to follow is to write two or three pages every day, even if it’s just “I have no idea what to write but I have to do these stupid pages.” I haven’t been very successful at doing even that. I am getting better about writing during my breaks at work, though.

      What’s Spirit Tracks?

Leave a Reply

