Things I Like 7/12

1) Our Totally Awesome Epic Fruit Tart
A few weeks ago we wound up with a surplus of phyllo dough. We were able to use a bit of it to make quiche, but we still had two extra boxes of the stuff. When I spotted this recipe on Real Simple’s website, I had an idea.

We went to the farmer’s market on Saturday and got a flat of blueberries, raspberries, blackberries, and strawberries. We rolled out 10-12 sheets of phyllo dough with melted butter brushed in between the layers, rolled some up to make an edge, and topped it with berries and two tablespoons of sugar.

The result was the most excellent thing our kitchen has ever produced.

And as soon as I finish this post I am going to go have another slice.

2) These Necklaces
I’m always a little late to trends, but I’m really digging the asymmetrical necklace look that’s been going on for a while. I’m not really wild about the huge bib-style necklaces, but the smaller ones with one larger detail off to the side, I really like those. I’ve been spending way too much time in Etsy’s Treasury section lately, trying to find cute wedding things, but usually I just wind up loading my Favorites list with adorable jewelry.

3. CARBON LEAF.


Their Portland concert is Thursday night and I am freaking bouncing off the walls. This will be Kevin’s first show, and my, uh, fourth. But I’m really really excited for Kevin to finally see them, because they put on a totally awesome show, and they are absolutely my favorite band ever. I’m also excited to have a Night On The Town, even if that town is Portland and we are guaranteed to get lost. Does anyone know of any good (and affordable) restaurants near the Aladdin Theatre?

(Carbon Leeeeeeeaf!)

One thought on “Things I Like 7/12

Leave a Reply

