Things I Can’t Afford Thursday: Etsy Spice Kits

I like cooking. I really do, and I don’t think enjoying cooking is preparing me for a lifetime of domestic drudgery. I have many other, less productive hobbies like video games and reading comic books and watching “Avatar: The Last Airbender.” Plus I think I’ve gotten pretty good at it. I can throw an assortment of spices and olive oil on chicken and produce something juicy and yummy. I make a mean chicken satay with peanut sauce. I’ve even attempted some more elaborate Moroccan and Indian chicken dishes.

See the problem there?

It’s all chicken.

Chicken is relatively cheap and easy, and as far as meat goes, it’s pretty good for you. Pork is pricey and easy to overcook. Red meat is more affordable but not so great for the arteries. Seafood? Ha, yeah, come back when I’m the Vice President of Marketing for God. (I assume God pays well.) So, we stick with chicken. It’s been good to us.

It just gets so dang boring. On a weekend I have more fun to mess around with complicated dishes, but during the week, I have about three options: I can do Italian Spiced Chicken, Asian Spiced Chicken, or Vaguely Moroccan/Middle-Eastern Spiced Chicken. (It involves lots of cumin.)

Enter the eternally creative folks on Etsy, who sell truly tempting spice kits.

Want to make lamb tangine but have no idea where to find ras el hanout? Never fear, Spice Baby Spice has made her own blend for you, and it comes with 14 other spices! Feel like blending your own chai? Mix away. You can even find delicious-sounding barbecue blends. Or do you plan to make and eat fine French cuisine for the rest of your life? Here, have 15 containers of everything from rosemary to sel du mer. Some of these kits even come with recipes!

Or, if you want something more basic, pick up a bottle of organic vanilla extract for your next batch of cupcakes.

The problem with all these savory items (as you may have guessed from the title) is that I can’t afford to drop $30 plus shipping on some spices because I feel like trying Indian cooking. Like I said, gotta become God’s VP first. Cost Plus has a nifty program where you can bring their spice jars back for a discounted refill, but it’s pretty hard to beat the price of Winco bulk spices…or our neighbor Breck’s balcony full of free basil.

But I totally want to try these kits.

(I didn’t even get into the make-your-own-herbal-tea kits. Somebody suggested having a different kind of “tea party” by having your friends over to mix up their own custom tea blends. HOW AWESOME IS THAT.)

Have you guys ever purchased a food item on Etsy? Do you have a wish list? If you haven’t, just search for “chocolate truffles” and that’ll fix your problem real quick. Let me know if you find something cool!

One thought on “Things I Can’t Afford Thursday: Etsy Spice Kits

Leave a Reply

