Tunes I Like: “But Now I’m Back” by Pink Martini

Pink Martini is a Portland-based group that plays literally all over the world. I saw them in concert with my family at the Ste Michelle Winery a few years ago, but the next year, the band was in Turkey and so we were most definitely unable to attend. They’re playing in Portland on New Year’s Eve and I’m tempted to sell some plasma to get tickets.

The best way to describe Pink Martini’s music is multilingual, tongue-in-cheek 1930s lounge jazz. They sing in French, Japanese, Spanish, Italian, Czech, and Arabic. Oh, and English. For the most part, their tunes are pretty lighthearted – see “Lilly,” “Hey Eugene,” and “Dansez Vous” – but they also have a good repertoire of dramatic, emotional songs, often instrumentals (see “Veronique,” “Una Notte a Napoli,” and “Song of the Black Lizard”).

Their most recent CD came out last October, but I’m just getting around to listening through the whole thing. “But Now I’m Back” is track 6, and it’s just one of several songs on this CD with Pink Martini’s token “c’est la vie” attitude towards love and relationships.

Okay, I’ll spare you guys the English-major version – this song cracks me up.

5 thoughts on “Tunes I Like: “But Now I’m Back” by Pink Martini

  1. Oh my gosh. I have to go on the record here saying how much I love Pink Martini! I was lucky to catch them when they were doing a benefit thing for music programs at my old high school, and I honestly can’t get enough of them. (Also, that song is stuck in my head now and won’t leave).

    If you’re looking for another group that’s got a similar feel, but is less multiculturally hip and more bizarre, I recommend the Squirrel Nut Zippers.

  2. When I used to work as the Admin Asst for my college newspaper (read: I created crossword puzzles all day long), we all used to fight over who got to take the free review CDs home after they’d been reviewed. I fought my housemate (and fellow blogger Chelsie) for the Pink Martini one. She’s scrappy, but I won in the end. But then she stole it from me (not hard to do when you live down the hall) so I stole her KT Tunstall and it got ugly after that.

Leave a Reply

