Day 5: Silver Belles

(Get it? Get it? That joke has never been made before ever.)

Winter is the opportune time for wearing dark, dramatic shades.  Normally I wear black and gray slacks and my gray cardigan entirely too often, so I tried to mix that up for today’s outfit.

Sweater: Express
Cami: Target
Pants: Ann Taylor Loft
Boots: Nordstrom
Necklace & earrings: gifts

Rather than follow the neutral-layering scheme I tend to fall back on, I chose some nice pants and a warm sweater with an interesting neckline.  I added a glamorous necklace and bold earrings in hopes of pulling off a dramatic, monochrome winter look that doesn’t make me look like I want to go home and write emo poetry.

This outfit incorporates two of my investment pieces.  I’ve had those boots since 2002 or so, and yes they probably cost around $100, but a) my parents bought them for me and b) to this day they remain my only pair of tall boots.  The Ann Taylor pants are a little big (of course), but they have a gorgeous silver shine to them, and the acetate lining means they’re super warm.  When I first spotted them in downtown Portland, I hemmed and hawed and texted my friends and waffled and tormented Kevin for like an hour before ultimately deciding not to get them.  They cost $80, which is kind of a big deal.  Of course, the minute we left Portland I began regretting not buying them.  Luckily, the fashion gods heard my despair and bestowed upon me a $20-off sale a couple weeks later when we were in Olympia.  Pants acquired!  These are quality pants, and even though I have to wear my tallest of heels with them, I love them and I’m relieved that I added them to my wardrobe.

(By the way: who’s done with grad school applications? THIS GIRL. AW YEAH.)

4 thoughts on “Day 5: Silver Belles

  1. i might be fairly impartial to the color gray, but i still think that this outfit is fantastic!

    p.s. congrats on being done with grad school apps…i’m finishing up my master’s this semester, but i still recall the terribleness of the application process!

    • Thank you! The applications were pretty intense and I’m very happy to have them finished. 🙂

      PS the feed-the-fish thing on your blog is pretty much the best thing ever.

Leave a Reply

