Days 6-9: Reign of the Purple Cardigan

This weekend I drove up to Washington to see my mom and work out a few wedding details.  We got a great start on my veil, which my mom is making for me, and one of my mom’s amazing crafty friends is making our beautiful invitations.  I think we might even have our centerpieces figured out.  Woohoo!

I also got to go shopping with Tess, which means that the remaining 20 days of this challenge just got a whole lot easier, if you know what I mean.

Speaking of shopping – guys, I’ve discovered Jimmy Choo.  I don’t know how I can go on wearing the dress sandals I have, knowing that such beautiful, buttery-soft creations are there for the taking.   They were gold.  They were dainty.  They were shapely and flattering.  Yes, they originally cost nearly $700, and yes, they still cost $200 at Nordstrom Rack, but you guys, these are honestly the most comfortable and beautiful shoes I have ever tried on.  I felt like Cinderella when the prince returns her lost slipper.  I sympathized with Carrie Bradshaw and I understood why some women have a shoe problem.  I also felt like all those girls on “Say Yes To The Dress” who try on the gown that’s $5,000 beyond their budget, fall in love with it, and can’t settle for any other dress.

I should never have touched them.  They will haunt me unto the end of my days.

Anyway.

Let’s look back at the last few days of my 30 Days project.

Day 6:

Shirt: Nordstrom Rack
Cami: Costco
Skirt: thrifted, by Old Navy
Patterned tights: Nordstrom (gift)
Pantyhose: Target
Boots: Nine West Outlet
Peacock necklace: Burlington Coat Factory, by Guess
Headband (black braided silk): also Burlington Coat Factory

I find I have a hard time wearing truly feminine ensembles.  If I’m wearing light, girly colors, I want to contrast them with heavy materials or a dark neutral.  If I wear a skirt and tights, I prefer pairing them with chunky shoes and modern jewelry.  I really like how this outfit balanced out.   The skirt has a bit of a ruffle on the end, and the lacy tights and silky headband are about as girly as you can get.  The peacock pendant is sparkly and shiny and blingy, but everything contrasts pretty well with the charcoal skirt, the pirate boots, and the bright modern shirt.

I think I could wear just about anything and still feel awesome as long as these boots are involved.

A blog recommended layering patterned tights over pantyhose for a little extra warmth. Whoever you are, thank you! You are brilliant.

Day 7:

Blazer: thrifted
Flower-detail top: Ann Taylor Loft
Jeans: thrifted, by Ann Taylor Loft
Shoes: Famous Footwear
Wooden earrings: Claire’s
Wooden necklace: Maurice’s

Wait a minute, is that…detail? And distinction between colors?  And accurate skin tone?  Why yes!  We decided to try the DSLR, and of course the photo quality is a whole lot better.  We’re still grappling with lighting, but this is a huge step up from what my point-and-shoot was delivering.

I admit, I really have a thing for pairing blazers with jeans.  I feel like I can’t wear my blazers with other dress pants because they’ll look either mismatched or too dressy, so I just wear them with my nice dark-wash jeans.  Trouble is, I wear something like this once a week, usually on a Thursday or Friday.  I’ll have to be extra-creative when I fall back on this formula (as I inevitably will).

Okay, now we’re going to get into the more boring days.  Right after the last photo was taken, I shed the jacket, changed into more comfortable pants, threw on my purple cardigan, and hopped in the car for the drive to Washington.  I brought only a little bag with two shirts, another cardigan, and a skirt.  Sounds like plenty of variety, right?  Unfortunately, the fashion gods had other ideas.

Day 8:


Cardigan: gift, from Talbot’s
Blue shirt: so old I don’t even remember anymore
Cami: Costco
Jeans: also don’t remember
Blue earrings: Claire’s
Headband: borrowed from my sister…

This shirt is five or six years old.  The jeans are two or three years old.  It was a Saturday.  This is what you get.

aaaaugh taking pictures in a mirror is hard

Day 9.

Oh Day 9.

Day 9 really messed with my plans.  It snowed.  Not a lot, but enough to convince me that my original idea of wearing a skirt and tights was not a good one.  I kept the original shirt plan, but reverted to the previous day’s jeans.

 

The top part started off okay. Look at how sassy I am in my black with my jewelry!
But it was cold and the other cardigan I brought was navy. Navy+black=unacceptable. Back to the purple cardigan. Boo!
But at least I’m warm and I get to go shopping with one of my best friends after my mom helped me be a little less stressed about wedding stuff. Yay!
Black shirt: Old Navy
Cami: Target
Necklace: JC Penny
6 thoughts on “Days 6-9: Reign of the Purple Cardigan

  1. I really like the blazer with jeans look- I’d like to incorporate more blazers into my outfits, but I struggle with finding one that is good to move around in and looks like it fits well. Don’t fear the black and navy! It is a doable fashion rule to break. You’re doing really well with keeping up on photos- do you think you’ll use this as a segue for style/fashion becoming more of your blog?

    • I’ve actually had trouble with proper sizing, too. This one is actually a size too big, which means the arms are awkwardly roomy, but that just means I can fit extra layers underneath.

      I know What Not To Wear says it’s okay to mix black and navy, but I’m not comfortable with it yet. I feel like I have to have the right pieces, and an old navy cardigan doesn’t quite cut it. 🙂

  2. I’m with Heather – black and navy can totally work! Especially when you’re wearing jeans – the multiple blues are grounding.

    And I adore your outfit-taking faces. I think I’m going to try out the “Sassy Face” for myself!

    • I don’t know, I’m still not sure about this navy/black thing. It would depend on the pieces.

      Haha, I will try to incorporate the Sassy Face into more photos! Poor Kevin already has to deal with taking dozens of pictures with our crummy lighting – now I’ll be making goofy faces too!

  3. Pingback: Heels in a Warehouse #8 « Ruby Bastille

  4. Pingback: 30 Days No Repeats: The Last Three | Ruby Bastille

Leave a Reply

