30 Days No Repeats: 12-14

Day 12: The Wednesdayest Wednesday

Long cardigan: gift
Slacks: Macy’s
Layering tee: Target, by Merona
Boots: Famous Footwear
Scarf: Gift
Earrings: Claire’s

This entire week has felt like Wednesdays and Thursdays.  It wasn’t fun.  My outfit probably didn’t help much – I was comfortable in my casual tee, stylish cardigan, and a big warm scarf, but I think it made me a little too comfortable.  I felt tired and a little lazy for most of the day.

Jeez, my hair is getting long.

Kevin took pictures until I smiled more.  He’s been pretty great, taking seven or eight photos of me every single day.

Day 13: Return of the Sweater Dress

Sweater dress: Target
Cami: ??
Tights: Walmart
Boots: Nine West Outlet
Earrings: gift from Linnaea from Mexico!
Silver chain headband: Claire’s

I adore this dress, but I’m discovering that it’s actually challenging to build outfits around.  It’s black, which means I can wear it with just about any tights and shoes I want, but the ruffled neckline, defined waist, and traditional skirt make it hard to do any other layering.  My original plan for this outfit was to wear it with my cream lace scarf and go for a vintage-feminine-with-boots look, but the scarf was just too much.  I’m happy with the way it all turned out – the silver jewelry, headband, and gray tights kinda-sorta pulled together a monochrome look – but I’m not thrilled.  It’s very easy for me to feel frumpy in this dress, in spite of the kickass boots.  If anyone has any suggestions for making this more interesting, I’d love to hear them!

Also, these tights are the best argument I have against buying cheap tights.  I got them on clearance and Walmart, and even though I’ve worn them less than ten times, they’re already wearing thin and pilling in places.  It’s been said before by many wiser bloggers, but seriously, invest in quality tights like Hue.  I haven’t bought anything from We Love Colors yet, but I hear great things about them as well.

Day 14: Retro Turquoise

Sweater: TJ Maxx
Jeans: Thrifted, by Ann Taylor Loft
Heels: Famous Footwear
Earrings: from Nordstrom eight or so years ago

At least I think that’s where they’re from. I’ve had them for ages.

This may be my favorite outfit from this week after Day 11.  No, there’s not much going on, but the dramatic shirt and the big earrings make enough of a statement on their own that I didn’t need extra layers or hair accessories.  Oregon has gone into a bizarrely warm phase (seriously, it’s been in the high 50s), which meant I could wear one of my short-sleeved sweaters and neither freeze nor worry about looking dorky wearing a cardigan over a sweater.

Today, the 30 Days challenge really proved its purpose: it made me investigate the depths of my wardrobe and find new uses for pieces that don’t often see the light of day.  I hadn’t worn these earrings in years.  I hadn’t worn the shirt since summer because it’s tricky to layer.  The colors turned out great together and the whole outfit worked without needing lots of layers and accessories.  I have tons of dramatic earrings in my closet, so hopefully I can work in some simpler clothes with a wider variety of accessories.  I’m thinking of wearing a button-down shirt on its own – no vest, no belt, no blazer – and pairing it with exciting jewelry.  Maybe that’ll be an experiment for next week.

3 thoughts on “30 Days No Repeats: 12-14

    • I love those jeans. The dark wash makes them acceptable for work and they’ve got a pretty classic cut. Plus the Loft has a couple different pant styles so they will fit a bunch of different body types (theoretically).

  1. Pingback: 30 Days No Repeats: The Last Three | Ruby Bastille

Leave a Reply

