30 Days No Repeats: The Halfway Point

Surprise!  Things are beginning to get challenging.  I usually cycle through my work clothes in about two weeks, so now I need to check back through my photos and dig out individual items I haven’t worn yet.  I couldn’t put off certain outfits any longer (like today’s).  I had to grit my teeth and ignore my fabulous new Max Studio dress because I just wore it last week!

So what have I learned so far?  For one thing, I have a lot of clothes.  I have a good mix of investment pieces (today’s black skirt, the silver pants, most of my tights, etc) and cheap, trendy pieces (today’s shirt, the sweater dress, etc).  Yes, I would probably survive if I had to cut down my wardrobe, but I’m happy experimenting to get maximum wear out of the pieces I might have been ignoring.

I’m also learning to dig deeper in the drawers and the closet and consider each piece carefully.  This has applied both for accessories (Day 6) and full outfits (Day 15).  I’m learning that while you can get away with wearing just a top and pants all the time (and I usually do), that’s not really fun or interesting.  There’s a fashion mantra that says after you get dressed, you should take one thing off.  It may not be as relevant today, but there’s still a line to dance around between spicing up an outfit and overwhelming it.  This challenge has made me think a lot about the base pieces of an outfit, but it’s also challenged me to think of fresh ways to accessorize.

My favorites so far are Day 14 (simple, colorful, comfortable, flattering), Day 11 (making all-black socially acceptable), and Day 1 (casual but personalized).

So, that’s the end of the presumptuous fashion write-up.  Onward!

Day15: Going Green

Cardigan: Nordstrom Rack
Shirt: Express
Cami: Costco
Jeans: ??
Socks: REI or someplace that makes nice warm socks
Necklace: Monsoon
Earrings: ??

Even though Oregon is enjoying a bout of weirdly mild weather, I didn’t trust the mountains or Bend to be very warm  this weekend.  I layered up and wore my heavy-duty outdoorsy socks and promptly overheated.  I’ve been on a green kick lately, but this was the first time it ever occurred to me to wear a green cami under a green shirt.  Surprise! Works just fine.

Day 16: Sunday Dress

Dress: Nordstrom
Cami: Target
Tights: Macy’s
Flats: ??
Earrings: Claire’s
Necklace: Maurice’s

I intended to wear the military cardigan over this, but again, too warm.  I have trouble styling this dress because of the empire waist – I feel like it’s a little too young to wear to work.  This made for a fun and comfortable weekend outfit, though.

Day 17: Why Yes, Those Are Hips

Today’s outfit is an alternate version of an outfit I wore a couple months ago.  In fact, only two things changed: the tights and the jewelry.

Shirt: Nordstrom Rack
Skirt: Nordstrom, by Semantiks
Belt: Forever 21 (have I mentioned this cost five bucks?)
Patterned tights and pantyhose: Nordstrom, top layer gifted
Shoes: Famous Footwear
I did a lovely job of hiding my earrings, but they were gifted.

I love the silhouette this creates.  It made me feel very vain, but every time I caught my reflection, with the belt emphasizing the hips I tend to forget I actually have and this shirt looking so awesome, I cheered for myself.

The problem is this belt is not meant to be worn around the hips, so I frequently had to scooch it back into place.  Is it worth it?  Totally.

One thought on “30 Days No Repeats: The Halfway Point

  1. Pingback: 30 Days No Repeats: The Last Three | Ruby Bastille

Leave a Reply

