30 Days No Repeats: 20-21 and also some food

Day 20: Statement Necklace

Sorry about the silly face...this was the picture that best showed the hair & necklace.

Blazer: Nordstrom, by Semantiks
Layering tee: Target, by Merona
Jeans: thrifted, by Ann Taylor Loft
Boots: Famous Footwear?
Necklace: gift
Earrings: super old, probably from Claire’s

Reading all those new blogs inspired me to try a new hairstyle!  I would love to wear my hair in a bun or French twist, but the layers make it tricky and my hair is so slick it just falls apart.  The little braid was simple and stayed put.

I've had this necklace for years but like many things, it doesn't get worn much. It just occured to me that it would be a good fit in this season of statement necklaces.

I’d included the necklace in an outfit plan for several days now, originally intending to wear it over a light-blue sweater.  The colors didn’t show up very well, though, so I switched to a plain white tee.  With the big necklace and the different hair, I pretty much felt like a supermodel.  Which is funny, because the outfit itself was just another Blazer & Jeans getup.  At any rate, I need to practice my modeling face more.

Day 21: Antiques & Lace

Dress: Nordstrom Rack, by Max Studio
Scarf: local boutique I unfortunately forgot the name of
Patterned tights: gift
Gray tights (underneath): Macy’s, by Hue
Flats: DSW
Earrings: Claire’s

Once again, the laws of photography are turned upside-down.  Turns out the best pictures are actually taken in plenty of light with no flash at all.  Sigh.

Anyway, here’s another new favorite outfit!  I adore this dress, and I loved wearing all the vintage details.  I’m still not sure this dress is entirely work-appropriate, but that hasn’t stopped me from wearing it.

Right, now I’m sure most of you are tired of the fashion voyeurism, so here’s a recipe for Irish soda bread! (Scroll down; the article takes it from the book pictured.)

We couldn’t find coarse whole-wheat flour, so we used 2 cups of regular whole-wheat flour and one cup of cracked wheat.  My other suggestion is to leave out the cup of all-purpose flour.  You’ll get sweeter, denser, and more authentic bread.  Also, make three loaves, because you will probably eat the entire loaf the first day.

5 thoughts on “30 Days No Repeats: 20-21 and also some food

  1. Okay, can I just say you’re my new hero? First, for the beautifully lacy scarf, and second, because you MAKE BREAD. Crazy stuff, I can barely make a bowl of cereal. 😀

    Thanks for the shoutout the other day – what a thrill!

    • Haha, thanks! We are mutual heroes! The bread is ridiculously easy, I promise. I mean, yeah, I forgot to put in a whole cup of flour the first time, but that made it better!

  2. Pingback: 30 Days No Repeats: The Last Three | Ruby Bastille

Leave a Reply

