30 Days No Repeats: The Last Three

Whew!  It’s kind of a relief to be able to just grab whatever in the mornings.  I’m still putting more consideration into the colors and patterns I choose, but now I don’t have to worry whether or not I wore a certain shirt last week.  Kevin, of course, is even more excited this little exercise is over since it means his duties as photographer have finally come to a close.  (Thanks, dear. 😉

Day 28: Purple Suede Shoes

Cardigan: gift, from Talbots
Layering tee: Target, by Merona
Jeans: Macy’s, by LEI
Shoes: Nordstrom Rack
Scarf: gift (it’s from Ecuador!)
Headband: Penneys

Day 29: Out on the Town

Sweater dress: Target
Pink tank: Ann Taylor Loft
Tights: JC Penny
Boots: Nine West Outlet
Necklace: Gift

Oregon experienced a miniature miracle this weekend: sunshine!  It was actually warm enough to go out without a coat!  My sister and I went to Keizer Station for the grand opening of the new Old Navy, which is shiny and packed with an awful lot of clothes I liked. Sigh.

I did cheat a bit and change out of this outfit after shopping because the boots hurt my feet after a while.  Kevin and I had some extra errands to do (in the sun) and I wanted to be able to walk comfortably when we went out (into the sun).

And did I mention there was sun?

Day 30: Brooching A New Subject

Cardigan: Nordstrom Rack
Tee: Old Navy
Jeans: same as Day 28
Shoes: Payless
Brooch: on long-term loan from my sister

I’ve always been afraid to wear brooches because I’m paranoid about putting holes in my clothes.  I know there are lots of fun ways to wear them, but unless you string them on a necklace, you’re going to have to poke holes in things.  I tried to play it safe for this first attempt by pinning it in a secure location where it wouldn’t wiggle much, and it worked pretty well.  A lady at church even complimented me on it! (Thanks, Katherine!)

Again, this is an outfit I changed out of as soon as I didn’t have to impress anyone.  I spent most of the day in my new reading nook, wearing sweats, engaging in a turf war with the cat.

Literally as soon as I got up for something, she moved in and took my spot.

mmm, heat lamp. You’d think we never turned the heat on or something. Oh wait…

So, that’s it for the 30 Days challenge.  What did we learn?

1) I’m brooch-phobic.

2) While I have an alarming number of pieces, I tend to wear the same silhouettes on a regular basis.  Examples: Days 6, 17 & 26; Days 12 & 27.  This was pretty much inevitable since I tend to stick with more classic silhouettes, but I’m going to keep an eye out for ways I can make it more interesting, particularly by wearing different skirts and pants.

3) Indoor photography is just a pain in the ass.

4) Scarves are totally awesome and versatile and I can and should wear them all the time.

5) Wearing something that I feel really comfortable in (like Day 14) will make me feel glamorous and fantastic.  I’m going to keep that shirt in the closet as a backup for those fug, hate-everything days.

Favorite outfits: Days 21, 19,14, and 11.

We’ll be back to the regular schedule of nothing in particular soon!  Thanks for reading along and sharing your advice!

2 thoughts on “30 Days No Repeats: The Last Three

  1. Such a pretty smile in all the photos! I love your reading nook – I used to make something similar in my closet. It was terribly cramped, but it seemed so romantic and novel-esque that I kept squeezing myself in there.

    Well done finish the 30 days! I’m still not (technically) done, as I’ve been really lazy about posting. So you win this one (read the later in a sinister voice. But not too sinister).

    • Aw, thanks! I like the idea of a nook in a closet – I’ve even seen people stick shelves in closets so they have an office space they can hide. I’ve always filled my closets to bursting, though.

      Technically I didn’t do all 30, either – I skipped a couple crappy days. Maybe we can duel again in a few months. 😉

Leave a Reply

