Return of the Trouser Jeans

I was about two years late to the skinny jeans trend.  For a long time, I thought they only looked good on the twiggiest of people and refused to admit they would stick around.  So what if “What Not To Wear” approved of them?  Even Stacy London gets it wrong sometimes.

Eventually, though, I gave in and got a pair from Nordstrom Rack, after some coaching from my sister.  I actually really enjoy wearing them, mostly because they’re so different from what I usually wear (ie, loose flowing work slacks).  Luckily (or unluckily, depending on your fondness for skinny jeans), they seem to be sticking around, which means my investment was worthwhile.  That plus the  fashion trend cycle seems to be shifting.  (Already Pretty, of course, has written about that better than I ever could.)    I’m glad trends are recycling themselves so quickly both because it means I don’t have to buy anything new, and because it gives me a chance to wear some stuff that I bought two or three years ago, thought about getting rid of, and kept anyway, just in case.

(The trend-recycling thing does nothing to help my hoarding tendencies.)

Making it to the trend bandwagon on time with the skinny jeans has also made me more open to trying trends while they’re new.  This is pretty big for me – the nail in my fashion coffin occurred when I attempted to catch on to the poncho circa 2003.  By the time I worked up the nerve to get my own, the fashion world had moved on.   So when I saw this piece about wearing trouser jeans, I thought of the Limited jeans I’d gotten on sale a while back – as in, three or four years ago, at the end of the last cycle for trouser jeans.  They’re a tiny bit too long, and they make such a statement I very rarely wear them.  When I do, I usually wear my “theme” tops like that black sweater with the sheer sleeves and my retro turquoise top.  All I’d need to complete the 70s look is bug-eye sunglasses and feathery Farrah Fawcett hair.

I don’t know why I always tried to do a “costume” with those jeans – maybe I felt more comfortable wearing such a bold item if the rest of the outfit looked bold too.  For this, I decided to just treat it like a regular outfit.

Cardigan: gift, from Talbot’s
Flower-detail tee: Ann Taylor Loft
Jeans: The Limited
Boots: Nordstrom
Necklace: Kohl’s
Earrings: gift

Being on the shorter end of the height spectrum technically means trouser jeans shouldn’t work for me, and looking at the pictures, the pants do seem to make my legs look shorter.  Having the hem of the cardigan cut across at the hips doesn’t help that line, either.  In the future I might try wearing these with just a tucked-in tee and a belt to try for a more uniform silhouette.

Still, I got complimented by my extraordinarily trendy boss, so this outfit was a success in my book.

What do you guys think about trouser jeans?  Good idea, or bad idea?  Do you have pieces lurking in your wardrobe waiting for the light of style to shine down on them again?

3 thoughts on “Return of the Trouser Jeans

  1. I have a similar pair of trouser jeans I picked up a while back at New York & Company – I love them! Sometimes I even like to wear them with a basic tee.

    I thought your comment about turning the pants into a costume was hilarious :)I think you should def. try out the bug-eyed glasses and mod hair 🙂

  2. Just like classic trousers never go out of style, I don’t think trouser jeans do, either. And I’m surprised you think your legs look shorter. I don’t see it, and I think anytime you have strong, clean lines, legs look longer.

Leave a Reply

