Fun Food Friday: Bacon Brittle?

Bacon’s great.  This is an established fact.  Bacon may, in fact, be the greatest food in America.  Its applications are seemingly limitless: I’ve used it in fried rice, polenta, and of course scrambled eggs.  Bacon makes baked potatoes, carbonara, quiches, and sandwiches even more delicious.  You can wrap almost anything in bacon and you’ll be a culinary hero.

Over the last few years, though, bacon has become a pop culture icon.  You’ve probably see it on t-shirts or eaten it on wacky things like donuts, such as Voodoo Donut’s infamous bacon maple bar.

Now, you can get your bacon in peanut brittle.

The craziest part is that this doesn’t seem to be a new thing.  There’s actually more than one variety of bacon peanut brittle out there.  There’s even chocolate-covered bacon!

Now I like me my bacon, but this seems to be going a bit too far.  Has anyone tested these products?  I can see how, in theory, they might be a good example of a sweet-salty treat – like chocolate-covered pretzels, only…with bacon.  I’m not convinced, though.

6 thoughts on “Fun Food Friday: Bacon Brittle?

  1. I’m a vegetarian and I haven’t tried this– BUT at my boyfriend’s family’s Christmas party someone made chocolate covered bacon and everyone went crazy over it.

    • That’s nuts! I sort of became aware of it a few weeks ago through an Etsy thing, but I had no idea it was so popular. It just sounds bizarre.

  2. Bacon and chocolate are amazing together! The best is from Lillie Belle in Southern Oregon. They do a chocolate bar with bits of bacon in it, as well as the bacon dipped in chocolate.

    • Crazy! I think a bar with bacon bits in it wouldn’t be so bad – I don’t think I could handle full-fledged chocolate-covered bacon, though.

Leave a Reply

