Currently (March)

Lauren of Texas wrote up this survey thing, and since blogs are for oversharing and I could use some self-reflection, you get to learn a little more about me.

Current Book(s): “Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister” by Gregory Maguire.  I just finished the first book from my 2011 reading list, “One Hundred Years of Solitude” by Gabriel Garcia Marquez.  It was beautiful, but a good deal of it went way over my head (partially because it spans five generations that share three names) and now I need something simpler.  I’m also reading “The Foreign Correspondent” by Alan Furst on my lunch breaks when I’m not writing.

Current Playlist: Mumford & Sons.  All of it.  All the time.  Dear lord.  You guys, you need this band’s music.  You need it.  I cannot emphasize this enough.

Current Shame-Inducing Guilty Pleasure: We’ve been watching “X-Men: Evolution” through Netflix.  Even better, we’re watching the DVDs, because no one cares enough about this show to have it on Instant.

Actually, you know what, I am not ashamed of this.  I’m getting married and working at a full-time job and being generally grown-up in almost every other aspect of my life – I’m gonna keep watching my cartoons.

I am a little ashamed, however, of my recent urge to buy clothes.  I’m definitely developing a need to buy things in correlation with my “down” days – which often ends up making my down days worse, because clothes don’t fit, and I get discouraged and feel worse about myself.  My compromise recently was to buy a scarf.  It’s cheaper, more versatile, and will always fit!

Current Color: Green, somehow.  I never really owned much green clothing, but now I have green shirts and tights and a cami and (the newest acquisition) a scarf with green in it, and they all get worn pretty frequently.

Current Drink: Herbal peach tea.  Also this strawberry-pomegranate rooibos.

Current Food: Chicken wraps and chicken salads.  We got chicken nuggets, which I haven’t had in years, and Kevin made delicious wraps with them.  At least we’re getting some extra veggies in there.

Current Favorite Show:Castle.”  Castle and Beckett are the cutest unmarried married couple ever.  We watch irregularly since we got rid of cable and have to watch online, but we just caught up on the last two episodes, which we agreed were some of the best hours of TV we’ve ever seen.

Current Wishlist: To go to London and see Mumford & Sons in concert.  As if I didn’t have enough reasons for wanting to go to London.  Also, I wish for more writing inspiration.  I spend all day every day at work wishing I could be writing, but as soon as I get home, I just want to veg out and play Hexic.

Current Needs: Probably not much, honestly.  We maybe need a new apartment for health reasons, but I’m sure that mold in the windowsills isn’t a huge crisis.  Right?…right?

(Seriously though, whether or not I get into OSU, we’re getting out of that apartment soon.  I’m willing to pay more for a place with properly-insulated windows.)

Current Triumphs: Completing my OSU program interview after waking up with the worst migraine I’ve ever had.

Current Bane(s) of my Existence: Having to wait another three or four weeks to hear how that interview actually turned out.  Also, the mold in our apartment.  MAKE IT GO AWAY.

Current Celebrity Crush: Natalie Portman.  She’s even more adorable than usual lately.  Also, uh, Nathan Fillion.

Current Indulgence: We’ve been eating entirely too much ice cream lately.  I think we’ve been using the excuse of being sick, but we’ve both recovered and probably need to ease off.

Current #1 Blessing: We don’t need to wage violent rebellion against an oppressive monarchy.

Current Slang or Saying: I’ve been saying “rad” for a few weeks now.

Current Outfit: Well, it’s been cold as @#&! lately, so I’ve been wearing pants and sweaters and scarves to work.  In the evenings I change into two pairs of socks, long underwear, sweats, and a sweater because we’re too cheap to keep our heater on 24/7.

Current Excitement: I’m going shopping with Jessica this weekend!  And I have a coupon for Ann Taylor Loft!  And we’re going to have the best centerpieces at the reception!  And we only have, like, two or three huge important things left to schedule for the wedding, because the rest is little stuff!  And Kevin’s birthday is next week and I got him two awesome presents!  And I get to bake him a cake!  (See, this was the feel-good part of the survey I really needed.)  My first-ever video post has 88 views on Youtube!  I have a big new project at work that’s allowing me to actually use my degree!  And I think I’ve finally reached a point with my book where I’m not going to reinvent the plot anymore!

Current Mood: Stressed and maybe short on Vitamin D, but hopefully hearing an answer from OSU will resolve some of that.  It’s only going to determine how the rest of my life is going to play out, that’s all.

Leave a Reply

