pick-me-up post

Okay, guys – time to share the bad news.  Last Monday I found out I’d been waitlisted at OSU for the second year in a row.  I’ve been feeling pretty lousy about that.  My chances of getting in now are extremely slim, and I’m not going to spend another year of my life applying to schools and waiting for another round of rejections.  This means that our life plan has pretty much derailed and we don’t know where to go or what to do with ourselves anymore.  It sucks.

So I’m going to  make a little list of things I’m looking forward to in the near future.

Ready? Go!

1. Kevin’s parents are visiting this weekend. His parents are pretty cool and I haven’t seen them in a while.  I’ll be out with a family group for most of the weekend, which means I won’t have time to sit around feeling sorry for myself.  It also means we’re guaranteed to go out to dinner at least once.

2. Our anniversary is coming up. Five years! Yay!

3. My wedding dress will be in at the end of the month, which means it’ll be time for my first fitting soon, in my dress.  My insanely gorgeous, perfect wedding dress.

4. I finally got my hair cut! I’ve enjoyed having it long, but the ends were getting kind of limp and sad-looking.  Now I have a chic shoulder-length cut and getting ready in the morning will be a bazillion times easier.

5. In other hair news, “Tangled” comes out on the 29th. If you’ve seen it, you’ll understand why I am totally psyched about it.

6. A friend loaned us the first season of “Fringe” and it’s totally amazing. And we’re up to what, four seasons in total?  Excellent.

7. We’re revamping Average Fantastic. It’ll be back next week with a broader outlook and a wider variety of uplifting content and interviews and all kinds of cool stuff.  Should be pretty great!

3 thoughts on “pick-me-up post

  1. Those are all wonderful things to get excited about. I ADORE the hair – you look so sassy!

    My dad just got declined for a PhD program, too, so obviously some bad mojo is in the water. But there’s always more than one path to get to where you want to go. And so I know it feels hard right now, but don’t think of OSU’s choice as derailing your life plans, because it didn’t. It just cleared the way for you to see the next great option out there for you.

  2. I’m so sorry to hear about the grad school news. A lot of my friends here in Canada, who applied to PhD programs in the US, didn’t have much luck either – I really think the economy is keeping out so many brilliant people. Like the above poster said, I think it’s definitely provided you with an opportunity for something bigger and better.

    Also, I’m a fellow Fringe-watcher!! It’s in its 3rd season now actually – the 2nd season, IMO, was a bit wonky, but the current season is all kinds of fantastic.

    Finally, adding my voice of approval to the haircut!

    • We are blown away by Fringe each episode. Well, we’ve only seen five or six, but they’re all awesome. I hear the ratings are not great this year, unfortunately. Hopefully it at least gets a chance to resolve whatever insane storylines JJ Abrams thought up.

Leave a Reply

