30 Day Song Challenge: Day 16

Day 16: A song that you used to love but now hate.

I might make a few enemies with this one because my hatred for the song also extends to the artist a little bit.

“King of Anything” got overplayed, and it made me hate not only the song, but even Sara a bit.  It just built on the girl-power themes from “Fairytale” and “Love Song” (as in, I’m not going to write you one), and the more I heard it, the more I began to think she’s a raging man-hating feminist pop pianist who’s approaching female empowerment exactly the wrong way.  She isn’t really (probably), but her messages have been driven into my skull for so long that the whole shtick is starting to irritate me.  She’s right, you don’t need a man to be happy, but seriously, it’s okay if you have one. Relationships are a-okay. Not all guys are needy cheating selfish assholes. Really.

(Before you unsubscribe to my blog or whatever, I should tell you that “City Lights” is still one of my favorite songs. Possibly because it doesn’t sound like it belongs on a post-breakup soundtrack.)

One thought on “30 Day Song Challenge: Day 16

Leave a Reply

