Dress Your Best: Week 1

On Monday I met up with Kevin for lunch.

Now that you’ve read that, strip away any assumptions you may have had about our lunch involving a leisurely hour at a cafe somewhere.

First of all, thanks to recent gum surgery, my lunch consisted of a cup of yogurt.  So there’s that.  Also, Kevin only gets a half-hour lunch, which could start any time between 11:30 and noon.  When I picked him up, he told me he had a surprise, in the form of an excellent frozen yogurt shop in a nearby strip mall.  I had dedicated my Monday to taking out the last of the boxes for recycling, vacuuming, purging old files, and doing laundry, so I was more than happy to indulge in some fro-yo.

We walked across the parking lot and Kevin, in his shirt and tie, said happily, “I think this is the first time I’ve ever out-classed you.”

That’s because I was taking a day off from Dress Your Best, and I was wearing jeans and a Threadless tee instead of one of these outfits.

Day 1:

Laura struck by Gum Surgery! -50 mobility! Laura uses Fake Paper Smile! It is somewhat effective!

Skirt: embarrassingly old
Tee: Maurice’s
Cardigan: Nordstrom
Sandals: Naturalizer, from Macy’s
Belt: vintage via my grandmother! plus 10 hipster cred!

I don’t really know how it happened, but all of a sudden this belting-cardigan thing is my favorite style trick in the world.  Look!  A waist!  I have one!  Hips, too!  Well, I have two hips actually.  But hey, they are differentiated from the rest of me!

I don’t really know any of the science behind wearing a maxi dress correctly, although Ann Taylor Loft did have a beautiful petite dress that I wanted with all of my being (until it cost $50).  I’m guessing that having a long skirt line instead of a full-body line results in a long leg line, so that’s two of the five Bests dressed.  And I think technically a deep V neck like that is supposed to draw attention to the face, and since the white tee blends in very well with my pasty white decolletage at this point, I’m going to count that as a third Best.

Day 2:

Gum Surgery still attacking! Laura uses Photoshopped Lips! It is less effective but funny in a Hello Monkeyface way!

Dress: Target
Shrug/bolero: Target
Necklace: also vintage via my grandmother


Yes, this entire outfit is from Target, and yes, we did go to a Target store that day.  And yes yes, the main outfit is from this summer’s stock.

But hey, let’s count the Bests: long leg line, check; flattering draped waist, check; twist-front and fancy necklace to emphasize chest area, check; low rise in the back, check.  4 out of 5!

Day 3:

Tee: Nordstrom Rack
Lace vest: Maurice’s
Belt: Romy
Capris: from the days of old
Wedges: Lifestride, from DSW
Purse: Target
Headband: Jessica!
Lips: the Internet

I guess it’s convenient that my reflectively pale legs match the khaki capris because hey, long legs!  The lace vest thing is a recent find and, I think, the best way for me to jump on this lace trend without looking like a teenager.  I’ve never seen lace tops in a color that wasn’t cream or black, so hopefully the brown will help separate me a bit.  Yeah, it’s trendy, but talk about an easy way to make a plain t-shirt more exciting!  This would have looked fun even without the belt.  Okay, yeah, so the whole color scheme is a bit Lord-of-the-Rings-ish, but I think I looked pretty fantastic, and also bodacious.

2 thoughts on “Dress Your Best: Week 1

  1. I love that blue dress you have on! I love the easy summer dressing where you just throw on a dress and feel tempted to buy many of them, but it seems like a waste living in a city where it’s winter 9 months of the year. Sigh.

    • Thank you! I’m the same way about summer dresses, but we get lousy weather here as well. Plus so few of them are work-appropriate, which limits them even more. Sigh indeed.

Leave a Reply

