FBFF: Dreams, Goals, and Aspirations

Fashion blogging is only a small dish in the buffet of wonderful I try to serve you folks, but I joined up with “Fashion Beauty Friend Friday” anyway.  One reason (and it’s the same reason I do the fashion-blog challenges) is for the community aspect.  In the week or so that I’ve been in the group, I’ve gotten to pitch in on a bunch of conversations about blogging, and through those conversations I’ve discovered many great new blogs.

The other reason is because hey, blog prompts.  I feel hugely satisfied with myself when I have days and days of blog posts written, and I get even more satisfaction from those days when I’m inspired to start four or five posts.  Those don’t occur often (otherwise I’d be finished with everything I’ve ever started writing), so it’s always nice to get outside inspiration.  Yeah, I already had Fun Food Fridays, but there’s no reason that can’t become Fun Food Monday.  We’ll lose a little alliteration, which is always sad, but Mondays are good days for exciting recipes.  We’ll see.

So here’s today’s question:

This month I have been overwhelming inspired by two separate blog posts I read in which the blogger quit their day job and has started on the path to self-employment doing what she loves to do. If you haven’t read Sally from Already Pretty’s post on this rush over and do it now. And then to top it all off my younger sister has decided to quit her job and start her own business. So that got me thinking… we all have dreams, goals, aspirations. Putting them down on paper is often the first step to realizing those dreams.

1. Fess up – if you could do anything professionally what would it be?
Write, in any capacity.  Write books, write poems, write advertisements, write letters…I’d do it.

2. What draws you to this?
I’ve been writing since kindergarten and making up stories for just as long.  It was fun for a long time, but it wasn’t until high school that I started to think maybe writing could be what I did with my life.  I wasn’t called to any other professions – well, I was, but they were equally crazy things like “fashion designer” and “National Geographic photographer.”  When I found out colleges actually offered degrees in creative writing, I threw any practical ideas I had for a major out the window and signed up for that.

I tried to be realistic, occasionally.  I thought about minoring in business for about a semester, but then I nearly failed my introductory accounting course.  There wasn’t much else that fit into the center of that Venn diagram of “Interests Me,” “I’m Good At It,” and “Earns Money.”  At least the ability to spell and use the correct form of “your/you’re” can earn you some money.

3. When did you first start dreaming about this ideal?
Probably around 8th grade.  That year I took my first creative writing class, taught by Mr. Merrick.  I think I actually saved a couple pieces on which he’d praised my talent and written encouraging notes.  Whether he meant it or if he was just being a very nice teacher didn’t matter – I was thrilled to hear that I might actually be good at writing.

4. What’s holding you back from going all in?
I’m lazy, I’m afraid of failure, and I like money.  The chance of success – winning a contest, publishing a book – is so slim, it discourages me from really putting in the effort.  I don’t expect payoff, so I don’t want to waste the time on it.  Winning that poetry contest certainly helped me feel better, but I still feel guilty about not having a “real” job.  It’s stupid.  I wish I had the guts to just write something, or actually finish something, and then deal with the whole agent/editor/publisher dance.

I could write freelance, but that’s an entirely different bucket of procedure and insecurities.  And what could I write about?  I feel like I don’t have anything to offer in that area.

Basically, what’s holding me back is the knowledge that the kind of writing I want to do can’t support me financially.  It’s a stupid thing, I know – I’m pretty sure Stephen King and Nora Roberts are the only people in the world who have managed to pull that off.  So why does that stop me from just writing on the side?  Good question.  See the first two parts of the first sentence.

5. Sometimes the first step is the hardest… what’s one step you can take now on the way to realizing your dream?
Set and stick to a writing schedule.  I’m extremely fortunate in that Kevin earns enough at his job that I can work part-time and use the extra time for writing.  I have to get that part-time job first, but theoretically I’ll be able to actually write for a few hours a day without feeling like a flake.  Even if I get a full-time job, I need to schedule an hour or so each day for writing.

And the Internet will be turned off.

One thought on “FBFF: Dreams, Goals, and Aspirations

  1. Go for it! You can do it!!!
    For me, it is important to find a time to devote to writing that works with my schedule and willpower. Pitifully, this usually means the time cannot depend solely on my self-discipline. Instead, I rely on my husband’s– when he runs or plays soccer, I write. Also, my writing time hinges on laundry; I try to write something while every load runs. Maybe you have something like these triggers which will help you make your writing a routine– perhaps running the dishwasher will become your Pavlovian trigger for getting to the keyboard?
    Also, take pride in the fact that you are building an audience through your blog. That’s important. When you have a project to pitch to an agent, the hard work and support you’ve proven here will be to your advantage.
    Live your dream!

Leave a Reply

