Fun Food Friday: Pasta Salad

Pasta salad is pretty much my favorite summer meal.  It’s easy to make, you can make a huge batch and have leftovers forever, it’s refreshingly cool, and the permutations of ingredients are limitless.  My mom’s version includes salami, artichoke hearts, and olives.  The version I made had spinach, grape tomatoes, cubes of mozzarella, and salami.

More or less.

I swapped out the salami for pepperoni, partly because I don’t like salami and partly because pepperoni is second only to bacon as the food of the gods.  And naturally I topped it off with a generous sprinkle of fresh parmesan.

The flavors were great together, but my favorite part was the ridiculously simple vinaigrette.  It’s olive oil, white wine vinegar, salt, and pepper.  That’s it.  I was tempted to throw in some garlic, because it’s my instinct to add garlic to everything, but I decided to leave this alone, and I’m glad I did.  The simplicity of the flavors was lovely.

At some point during the meal, Kevin looked up from his bowl and said, “Gold star.  I could eat this, like, every other week.”

“Haha, thanks, I’m glad you like it.”

“No.  Seriously.  You should make this every week.”

“Okey doke!”  I don’t mind – it’s not the healthiest dish, but it’s crazy easy.  I might add more veggies next time and maybe scrap the mozzarella entirely in favor of that final sprinkle of parmesan.  Whole wheat pasta wouldn’t hurt, either.

Oh, and I’d double or triple the recipe.  Kevin obliterated over half the dish that night.

5 thoughts on “Fun Food Friday: Pasta Salad

  1. At least it’s got spinach in it! Heaven would fall out of the sky if I ever got my boyfriend to eat a leafy green.

    Pasta salad sounds so good right now, though. I’d make it with bocconcini, probably, and with rice vinegar instead because it’s my go-to for salads, and the tomatos and spinach look perfect. I wish it were lunchtime…

    • I feel like I need to have a vinegar tasting party, or something, because I have no idea what the difference really is between wine vinegar, cider vinegar, rice vinegar, etc. Clearly they’re different somehow, I just don’t know how.

      • Oh, I know. I have very little experience with vinegars outside rice vinegar. I was thrown off the idea of balsamic vinegar recently when I saw a notice at the grocery store that their balsamics all have lead in them. Lead?! What era are we living in?

    • Awesome! You should also check out the website for the magazine Real Simple – I get a lot of my recipes from them and the site makes it pretty easy to search by ingredient, cuisine type, etc.

Leave a Reply

