Fashion Beauty Friend Friday: Fall Trends

Name your five favorite fall trends and how you plan to wear them this season.

This is the first time I’ve actually done research on what the trends are supposed to be.  I’m slightly overwhelmed and more than a little baffled.  Refinery 29 had a list of the most popular colors and it included, well, every color.  The silhouettes are, of course, totally weird to me because they’re being displayed as runway-model outfits that nobody in real life wears.

Plus all the 70s stuff is a little overwhelming.  Leather skirts, camel and cognac leather, the midi-skirt, mustard and yellow hues…I don’t think I can handle it.

The moral of this story (I’ve already figured it out in advance) is that fall trends will only really influence my wardrobe if I see it in stores and I like it.  So…any shopping I do this fall will be done exactly the same way as all my other shopping, and if trends happen to be purchased, well, gold star for me.

1. Full-length coats. You guys, I have been praying for full-length coats to come back for years.  I still dream about the beautiful brown wool Edwardian-style calf-length Anthropologie coat that I missed out on ages ago.  Yeah, it cost nearly $400, but it was so pretty.  (Apparently cape/poncho things are in too, which is cool, but I learned the last time ponchos were cool that it’s kind of impossible to wear a poncho and a purse at the same time.)  I would be delighted if this was the year I could finally get a gorgeous full-length coat.  Like this one!  Or this one!

No wait, the gray one in the middle!

(Oh, but they’re “maxi coats,” not just full-length coats.  Maybe they’re not cool if they’re not maxi.)

2. Apparently maxi skirts are sticking around, which is good, because I own them now and I want to continue to wear them.  I’m not sure about the chunky-sweater combo Glamour suggests, and I don’t really know what shoes to wear to winterize maxis, but I want to give this a shot.

3. Lace is sticking around as well.  I have a lacy tee, a creamy lace scarf, and a brown lace vest that can be incorporated into cool-weather outfits.  Rad.  Moving on.

Wait, actually, I may need this as well:

A LACE CAPE.

(Yes, I know it costs $560, I don’t wanna hear it.)

4. In a similar vein, one of the big colors for the season is supposedly champagne, which I’m down with because it fits in with the wardrobe of feminine, vintage hues I’ve been enjoying – ivory, olive, silver, pale pink, etc.  A certain combo of color and fabric in the form of this gray will also be showing up this season.  I like it and I’m hoping I can find some pants like that.  I would also try plum-colored tops.  That’s about it for the colors, though…fire-engine red and canary yellow aren’t exactly my cup of tea.

(I swear they just change the names so they can reuse their fabric from the last season.  Olive was in earlier this year, but now it’s called bottle green.)

5.  Also returning this year: colorful tights.  Got those too!  We’re done here.

(Read the other posts here!)

5 thoughts on “Fashion Beauty Friend Friday: Fall Trends

  1. haha trends aren’t for everybody. They are fun to mix up your staple wardrobe with but doesn’t mean you have to try all of them. I liked the ones you picked 🙂 I’m still working on a great lace piece!

  2. Words do not describe just how much I am wanting that grey full-length coat right now. Love at first sight! Unf. I’m not sure such dramatic looks work on me, but what a gorgeous piece of clothing.

    Colorful tights aren’t just a trend, they’re a way of life.

Leave a Reply

