Links Lundi

Found out Hugh Jackman started a fair-trade coffee/tea/chocolate company, in case he wasn’t awesome enough yet.

Robert is working his way through Time’s list of the 100 best English-language novels since 1923, which, looking at the list, sounds about as enjoyable as having a pair of doctors play tic-tac-toe on your stomach with scalpels.  I was pleased to see the list includes “Watchmen” and “Never Let Me Go” by Kazuo Ishiguro, but the presence of not one, but two Faulkner books is enough to make me run in the other direction.  And seriously, why 1923?

(Here are a couple other lists if you’re inspired: Harvard Book Store’s far less intimidating top 100, BBC’s list of the 100 best-loved books, Project Gutenberg’s 100 most popular e-books, and NPR’s top science fiction and fantasy books.)

SHHHH. I AM CONCENTRATING A HOLE IN THE FABRIC OF SPACE-TIME. IF I SUCCEED YOU WILL NOT NEED TO GO TO WORK EVER AGAIN.

Fashionflirt’s explanation of why putting effort into your appearance isn’t selfishness or vanity – it’ll actually make you feel better: ‘”You always look so pretty,” she said. “It always surprises me, that you make such an effort.” I shrugged. “It makes me feel better. And when I feel better, everything is easier.”

2 thoughts on “Links Lundi

  1. I have read…eight books on that 100-best. I’d personally leave Snow Crash off, but Neal Stephenson kind of annoys me. On one hand, working one’s way through a list like that would be satisfying, but on the other hand, the choices always depend on who’s making the list, and it’s never going to be 100% definitive.

    • I’ve read fourteen, I think…I honestly can’t remember if I’ve read “On The Road,” which seems appropriate. And the fourteen I’ve read are pretty much the only ones on that list that I’ve even heard of. :-/

      I agree that no list can really be definitive, but this one looks like it would be a good basis for a Modern English Lit class. We didn’t read much past the 30s, and some of those contemporary choices (Atonement, Never Let Me Go) would be great for class analysis. /englishnerd

Leave a Reply

