FBFF: Holiday Survey

Christmas is nine days away! Woo! I experienced a minor miracle this year in that I managed to ship out all my presents (the first time I’ve had to do so) with weeks to spare, and I had all my shopping done almost a month in advance.  Yes, really.  I am pretty proud of myself.  It’s giving me extra time to get even more hyped up about Christmas, spending it with Kevin and my family, going back to my childhood church, and eating cookies.  Lots of cookies.  Which I intend to bake very soon.

This week’s FBFF prompt is a good old-fashioned survey, which is a Christmas present in and of itself.

No holiday party is complete without candles.  I went a little candle-crazy this season and stocked up on a few glitter-covered pillars and fancy votive holders.  Having candles everywhere just makes things feel nice.

My favorite Christmas song/album is currently KT Tunstall’s cover of “2000 Miles.” I also discovered Straight No Chaser’s holiday medley:

And I always have a soft spot for the carols I sang in church choir.  Oh, and my guilty pleasure: “All I Want For Christmas Is You.” This is entirely due to it being in “Love Actually.”

My favorite seasonal recipe is the family pumpkin bread recipe, which is always a big hit.  I also have a deep and undying passion for a kielbasa appetizer we have with Christmas dinners, similar to this.  I have no doubt I could eat an entire batch if left unsupervised.

The perfect New Year’s Eve outfit includes fun jewelry.  I can’t really remember the last time I went to an actual New Year’s Eve party – I think it was sometime in high school – but if I’m going to dress up, I usually stick with a classic black wrap dress or my new blue satin sheath and personalize it with sparkly jewelry.  In keeping with my usual New Year’s celebrations of watching the Twilight Zone marathons, my personal perfect outfit is probably pajama pants and one of Kevin’s sweaters.

At the parties, I’ll be drinking wine.  Maybe.  Most likely I’ll be imbibing with Martinelli’s.

Eggnog, good or bad? Ick.

Did you ever take pictures on Santa’s lap at the mall? Oh yeah.  We moved to the Seattle area when I was in fourth grade, and from then on, we went to the Nordstrom in downtown Seattle and took our Santa pictures there.

Gingerbread Latte or Peppermint Mocha? Definitely the peppermint mocha.  I’m not a gingerbread fan.

Worst gift I ever got…my grandmother tends to give interesting gifts.  I wouldn’t call them the “worst” gifts because good grief, someone gave you something, show a tiny bit of appreciation.  Many of my grandmother’s gifts lacked in several areas, though, usually practicality.

Best gift I ever received was probably fantastic, but my long-term memory is completely shot and I can’t remember any specific gifts which makes me a terrible person I know.

My family has this weird tradition of going to the late-night candlelight service.  It starts at 11pm Christmas Eve.  I don’t think it’s weird because I’ve done it for ten years, but when I told Kevin we’d be going, he looked horrified.  His work schedule has made him value sleep more highly, but I don’t think staying up late for a Christmas service is too weird, right, guys?  Guys?

My best bargain find for a gift this year came from Borders. Their going-out-of-business sale helped me snag a few books I wanted to gift at awesome prices.

If I could only buy all my gifts from one place, I’d shop at Amazon? Etsy? Does that count? If I have to pick a physical store, I could probably find some cool stuff for everybody at a “Made In ___” store.  Let’s go with “Made In Oregon” so I don’t have to pay sales tax.

Rudolph the Red-nose Reindeer or Frosty the Snowman: Aww, the Rudolph movie!  So charmingly sexist.

My favorite holiday memory is every candlelight service.  It’s a beautiful and reaffirming experience every year.

My favorite Christmas movie is hands-down “Muppet’s Christmas Carol.”  It’s on DVD now and I need it.

The best part about holiday decorations is again, the candles, and also the Christmas tree.  And my advent calendar, which is a little felt snowman.  And the holiday towels for the kitchen.

Rip off the wrapping paper or neatly pull off the tape?  If it’s fancy paper or wrapped around a big box, I try to keep it intact so I can reuse it.  Otherwise, it gets torn apart, and then recycled.

Miracle on 34th Street or It’s a Wonderful Life? I haven’t seen either, but I want to see “It’s A Wonderful Life” more.

It doesn’t feel like the holiday season until after Thanksgiving.  For me, you’re cleared to start listening to Christmas music the day after Thanksgiving, and decorations can start going up on December 1st.

All I want for Christmas is happiness and peace on earth; some time to relax, spend time with friends and family, and read; to go to the candlelight service; and to give the sweet gifts I got/made.

Read the other entries here!

One thought on “FBFF: Holiday Survey

Leave a Reply

