FBFF: Resolutions

Today’s FBFF asks about our resolutions for 2012.  I’m not a fan of resolutions because I usually don’t accomplish them, which just makes me feel like a failure and less interested in making them in the future.  But I figure a few general goals, along with my 101 in 1001, should keep my productivity up.

1. Continue to schedule time so I do more productive stuff and less Internet.  The holidays kind of usurped my free time, and even though I’d gotten in the habit of setting alarms on my phone to schedule my day, it got to a point where I had to ignore them because I was cleaning or running errands or whatever.  This year I’m going to buckle down, obey the schedule, maybe develop some will power, and possibly finish The Book.  I’m not sure which of those last two is more likely.

2. Read 25 books.  According to Goodreads, I read 18 this year.  If I manage my time right, and use some of that will power I’m finally going to cultivate to get through my to-read stack, I can do better in 2012.

3. Eat better. I know it’s a pretty generic resolution, but after reading this article I really want to make some changes: fewer foods from cans and boxes, more fresh fruits and vegetables, more organic meat and dairy.  It bugs me that the definitions of “free range” and “organic” and “cage-free” are still so loose and easily corrupted, but I’ll do what I can.  The basics at New Seasons Market aren’t that much more expensive than the non-organic options at Fred Meyer, so it shouldn’t be too hard to do.

Oh, speaking of resolutions, I need to follow up on my 2011 Resolve to Read list!  How did I do?

1. “My Antonia” – didn’t read, but on my list for next year

2. “North and South” – didn’t read because no Vancouver libraries have it! What?

3. “Jane Eyre” – READ

4. “Girl Who Played With Fire/Kicked The Hornet’s Nest” – didn’t read, third one STILL isn’t out in paperback

5. “Once and Future King” – attempted, thought it was really weird, quit

6. “Merrick” – didn’t read, lost interest

7. “The Windup Girl” – READ

8. “From The Dust Returned” – attempted, thought it was really weird, quit (sorry, Mr. Bradbury)

9. “One Hundred Years Of Solitude” – READ

10. “The Handmaid’s Tale” – READ (wow, was that really this year? It feels like ages ago)

11. “Never Let Me Go” – READ

I set some more reading goals for 2012 – check them out here!

Do you make resolutions?  Why or why not?  What are you hoping to accomplish this year?  What are you hoping to read this year?

3 thoughts on “FBFF: Resolutions

  1. Wow 25 books?! Bravo if you get it done! I was proud to read 5 in the summer but I’m only on one this fall :/ I get so jealous when I see people reading like HOW DO YOU FIND THE TIME?! Good luck 🙂

    • Yeah, I found one blogger who read 92 books this year! I think many of them were YA, but still, that’s a LOT of books.

Leave a Reply

