Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Books I’m Excited To Read in 2012

Whoops, the New Year totally threw off my blogging schedule!  Sorry for the ugly draft that went up earlier.

This list could include any book I haven’t read, because there are a lot of those on my shelves already.  But it’s a new year and there will be another few dozen new books to catch my attention, so I’ll peek ahead and see what’s going to end up on my wish list.

1. “The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest” by Steig Larsson. I already own the other two in trade paperback, but the third one still hasn’t been released.  I’m hoping that with Fincher’s movie adaptation out, demand will rise again for these books, and I can finally get a tidy matching set instead of one unweildy hardcover.  Barnes & Noble says the mass market paperback is coming out in late February, which may have to do.

2. “The Sartorialist” by David Gordon.  This is definitely next on my to-do list.  My friend got it for me last year (as in 2011) and I never got around to reading it.

3. “The Second Duchess” and “The Flower Reader” by Elizabeth Loupas. “Second Duchess” is in my to-read stack, for sure, and I’ll probably get to it in early 2012.  Loupas’ second book comes out in April. Not sure what floromancy is really supposed to be, but whatever – if I enjoy “Second Duchess,” I’ll give “Flower Reader” a try.

4. “Bride of New France” by Suzanne Desrochers.  A girl with no other prospects is sent to newly-colonized Canada to be a bride to a soldier she’s never met.  This will be a new era in historical fiction for me, and I like the sound of the heroine.

5. “Mission to Paris” by Alan Furst.  A new Furst book!  Furst is one of few authors whose books I will buy without a second thought.  Even the books that have stories I don’t like very much are still enjoyable just because they’re so atmospheric.  It’s like walking around in “Casablanca.”

6. “1Q84” and other stuff by Haruki Murakami.  I heard a lot of good things about “1Q84” last year, and I came close to buying both “The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle” and “Kafka On The Shore” when I saw them in stores.  I’ll be looking for them in the library.

7. “The Help” by Kathryn Stockett.  I managed to miss the book that everyone else read in 2011.  Hey, at least I got “Hunger Games.”

8. “The Night Circus” by Erin Morgenstern.  It sounds like a lovely combination of “The Magicians,” “The Hunger Games,” and “Romeo and Juliet,” set in a circus.

9. “The Paris Wife” by Paula McLain.  This was a well-acclaimed telling of the Hemingway marriage, and even though I’m not a huge Hemingway fan, I love reading about that era.  (“Well-acclaimed” isn’t a phrase, is it. You get the idea.)

10. Henning Mankell books.  Mankell is the godfather of Swedish crime fiction, which, thanks to the “Dragon Tattoo” books, is a genre in its own right.  Mankell’s character, Kurt Wallander, is a troubled police inspector investigating brutal crimes that comment on Swedish politics, immigration, racism, and all kinds of issues that will probably be just a boatload of fun and puppies to read.  I’ll be starting with “The Pyramid.”  It’s actually the ninth book in the series, but it’s a collection of short stories that act as a prequel.  It’ll be interesting to read the rest of the series (assuming I make it that far) with that advance knowledge.

The other Top Ten Tuesday entries are here.  What’s on your reading list for 2012?

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Books I’m Excited To Read in 2012

  1. I’ve got Bride of New France on my TBR shelf too! I was so excited to get it this past summer but I still haven’t read it yet. It does look good though, doesn’t it? The Paris Wife also.

    • Wind-Up Girl or Wind-Up Bird Chronicle? I read/own “Girl” as well, actually, and it was weird, but I’m guessing “Bird” is also weird. 🙂

  2. Wind-Up Bird Chronicle is very weird–I don’t think I quite finished it (I still have a college friend’s copy, actually. Oops), and ended up putting it down in frustration for some reason that I do not now remember. So, just know that it might take a bit of dedication!

    I’m super jazzed for the third book in Holly Black’s Curse Workers series to come out, Black Heart. White Cat and Red Glove were so good, and I’m dyyyyying to know what happens next! I’m also excited to read Cleopatra’s Moon by Vicky Alvear Shecter, since I won a lovely hardcover copy from Forever Young Adult. It looks so good, and will be a great start to my POC reading challenge for this year!

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: 2013 Reading | Ruby Bastille

Leave a Reply

