FBFF: Spring Trends

1. With Fashion Week just around the corner, we are all beginning to focus on the upcoming trends for fall. But what about the trends hitting stores now? What are you coveting?
Really?  We’re already onto fall?  I am such a fashion noob.

To be honest, I’m not coveting much at the moment.  I’m not a fan of the loose, asymmetrical silhouettes and bold primary colors that are in right now.  I’m more into feminine, classic colors and styles, which don’t seem to be very prominent.  And the colors, oh boy – it’s either neutral (and sad, dead-khaki neutral at that, not fresh neutral) or neon-mustard or neon-coral.  Really not my thing.

I’m kinda liking the lacy layerable sweaters I’m seeing here and there, although I’m still iffy on the boxy silhouettes.

spring sweaters

Apparently gigantic bold prints are in, which isn’t my thing at all, but I’m seeing some more delicate, approachable prints available.

spring prints

And I’m glad tunics and skinny pants/leggings are still around because I’m just now getting into them and I’d like more options.  I’m also liking the skinny waist belts, which, as you’ve probably noticed, is a look I’m kind of obsessed with.

spring tunics

2. How do you incorporate new trends into your wardrobe?
I start very small and very late.  I got skinny jeans only when I had to admit they weren’t going away, which was about two years after they arrived on the scene.  The best example of an incorporated trend I can think of is my waist cincher belt.  It’s black and not too dominatrix-y, and I was able to start with some pretty tame looks and then move into new belts and new ways to style them.

3. What trend are you seeing and not loving?
I was at Urban Outfitters the other day and it was just confusing.  Everything was oversize sweaters and cropped tank tops and t-shirts with long tails and colors straight off “Fresh Prince of Bel-Air.”  My sister tried to explain how this new style of layering works, but it just seems to me that it would look disheveled all together, and I’ve always been a fan of more classic, tidy silhouettes.  I wish the “native” “tribal” stuff would go away, too.

4. Do you feel the pressure to constantly update your closet with the latest trends?
Not really.  I don’t want to be wearing something blatantly out-of-style, but I don’t like buying pieces until I’m sure I can get my money’s worth out of them.  I usually look for really trendy pieces in small doses, like new jewelry or a belt, and somewhere fairly inexpensive.

5. Where do you find inspiration that takes the trend and makes it accessible to you and your personal taste?
I try to look at catalogues or at the catalogue sections of websites that show you the looks they’ve put together with their newest pieces.  A catalogue is obviously not the most reliable source of inspiration because they throw all their pieces together and sometimes don’t even use real people as models, but it at least gives me a vague idea of how something will look on a person instead of a hanger.  And of course I investigate other fashion bloggers, who usually dress much more bravely than I do and give me ideas for mixing pieces I wouldn’t have thought to mix.

See the other entries at ModlyChic!

5 thoughts on “FBFF: Spring Trends

  1. Ugh! I know what you mean about being late to the trend boat. I only got skinny jeans in april of 2011! but you’re approach makes sense. you don’t want to be buying pieces that you won’t be able to get good mileage out of. it’s better to wait until you know they can be permanently incorporated into your wardrobe.

  2. Great post, I can totally relate to a lot of the things you say here. Although I like to stay current in the way I dress, I think this can be done without jumping on the trend bandwagon. My style is relaxed classic and I mostly prefer neutral colors like sand, cream, navy and taupe, with the occasional adding of nude or cranberry red. For spring and summer I do like to wear a few brigher colours like red, turqouise or green, and I’ve decided to try one of the tangerine colors as well, as I know it’ll look great on me. I also like metallics, but I’ll keep it simple like a top in a neutral, shimmery finish and maype a pair of metallic flats.

  3. I laughed out loud at “sad, dead-khaki neutral”– I know exactly what you mean by that and it seems to be everywhere. I got a sneak peek at Ann Taylor next spring line today and the neutrals looked nice, so keep an eye out!

Leave a Reply

