I Can Read!

Reading in Skirts is single-handedly providing me with enough meme-ness to sustain my blog for weeks.  Is it enough to satiate my cravings for oversharing and answering questions?  No, but it’s sure fun.

  • Favorite poet(s)?

I don’t actively read much poetry, but I’ve enjoyed what I’ve read by Czeslaw Milosz.

  • Least favorite/hated poet(s)?

I never liked (or should I say, appreciated) TS Eliot because I had “The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock” shoved down my throat at least once a year in high school.  Like many required-reading writers, though, he probably deserves a second chance.

  • Favorite fiction author(s)?

Ray Bradbury, Jhumpa Lahiri, Alan Furst, Michael Crichton, Neil Gaiman, Brian Jacques, Mercedes Lackey, Isabel Allende…

  • Least favorite/hated fiction author(s)?

Strongly dislike Faulkner.  Even though one of my favorite books is by Philippa Gregory, I only like one other book by her, which is disappointing.

  • Favorite non-fiction author(s)?

My exposure to non-fiction is sadly lacking, but I love Anne Lamott and Bill Bryson.

  • Least favorite/hated non-fiction author(s)?

Does Ann Coulter count?

  • Favorite graphic novel author(s)?

Neil Gaiman and Marjane Satrapi are both fantastic.  I’ve only ever read “Watchmen” by Alan Moore but it’s an incredible work.  For the less literary crowd, Joss Whedon’s run on “Astonishing X-Men” was brilliant, and Gaiman’s reinterpretation of the Marvel world in “1602” was also great.

  • Least favorite/hated graphic novel author(s)?

Frank Miller irritates me, for reasons that are probably obvious.

  • Worst reading habits? (I don’t think any reading can be termed as a “guilty pleasure”)

I sometimes have trouble sticking with a book, depending on the book I’ve just finished.  I remember being borderline depressed after reading “The Handmaid’s Tale” and starting three or four books before finally falling back on some guilty-pleasure Lackey.  Currently I’m reading “Love in the Time of Cholera” and having trouble staying focused on it.  I know many people can handle reading multiple books at a time, but if I tried that, I don’t think I’d ever finish most of them.

  • Worst book you ever read?

Those would be “Mumbo Jumbo” by Ishmael Reed, “Heart of Darkness” by Joseph Conrad, and “Intimacy” by Hanif Kureishi.  All required reading.  Two books I started of my own volition and couldn’t finish were “Sarah’s Key” by Tatiana de Rosnay and “Beside a Burning Sea” by John Shors (which was a bummer because Shor’s first book was pretty enjoyable).

  • Favorite book (at the moment at least)?

“The Illustrated Man” by Ray Bradbury.  Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter, of course. “The Chinatown Death Cloud Peril” by Paul Malmont.  “Never Let Me Go” by Kazuo Ishiguro.  “The Other Boleyn Girl” by Philippa Gregory.  “The Foreign Correspondent” by Alan Furst. “Sabriel” by Garth Nix.

  • Favorite genre?

“Soft” sci-fi and fantasy.  I can only handle one sword-and-sorcery author at a time, and that was Mercedes Lackey.  I prefer magical realism, steampunk, alternate-history, or other the-world-is-slightly-different fantasy.

I tag anybody who loves memes as much as I do!

Leave a Reply

