Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Books I’d Save

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve thought about this.  At one point I had a full escape plan mapped out which somehow involved rescuing the cat, my laptop, some photos, and a few books.  It’s more likely that I’ll just run screaming from the premises (although I will grab the cat), but if I have more time to pack – say, if I have to flee the zombie apocalypse – these will be my picks:

1. “The Lord of the Rings” by JRR Tolkien.  This is kinda cheating since I am talking about all three books, but you can hardly save one without the others.  I was given/borrowed/took my parents’ 1965 paperbacks, which have been well-loved by all of us.  They’re some of the oldest and most treasured books I have.

2. “Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban” by JK Rowling (British Edition).  When I went to England, I made sure to get the British version of my favorite Potter book.  My American hardcover has broken from being read so much (several chapters are falling out of the middle), so the British paperback would be the one to come with me.

3. “The Illustrated Man” by Ray Bradbury.  It’s the standard tiny Bantam paperback edition, nothing fancy, but it’s one of my all-time favorites.

4. “One More For The Road” by Ray Bradbury.  This one contains my all-time favorite Bradbury story.

5. “The Foreign Correspondent” by Alan Furst.  The tense, atmospheric WWII thriller that introduced me to Furst.

6. “Worlds To Come.” This is a 1967 collection of sci-fi stories written by the masters.  I haven’t read it yet, but it sounds too good to lose.

7. “Watchmen” by Alan Moore.  I don’t think I could ever get bored re-reading this.

8. “Pride and Prejudice” by Jane Austen.  I’m guessing I would want some happy fluffy reading after losing all my worldly possessions, and this would fit the bill.  Honorable mention goes to “The Guensey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society,” which, by the way, is being made into a movie (!), directed by Kenneth Branagh (!!!), starring – wait for it – Kate Winslet!(!!!!!)

9. “The Great Gatsby” by F. Scott Fitzgerald.  We have a nice hardcover edition I’d want to save.

10. “The Other Boleyn Girl” by Philippa Gregory.  This is one of the longest books I own, but it’s way more fun to read than “Mists of Avalon.”

How about you?  What would you save? Read the other Top Ten Tuesdays here if you need inspiration.

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Books I’d Save

    • I used to think I’d try to pull off something like that, but then I actually HAD to move them when we moved from Oregon, and I discovered that those books took up about a third of our total boxes. 🙂 I’d either have to ruthlessly cull them or get a Kindle.

  1. To my shame, I’ve only read half of these. If you hold the others in high regard, they must be good reads as well. It only recently occurred to me that I pass mere blocks from Seattle’s largest library every day. I’ll have to take advantage of that fact to rectify my oversights, starting with The Illustrated Man.

    If I could save only ten volumes, it would all be journals and photo albums. Books, for the most part, are mass produced, and seeing as how I own no finely bound first editions or the like, I’d probably be better off with digital versions (though the transition is proving more difficult than I anticipated).

    • Definitely read Illustrated Man, and I think you might like some Furst, too.

      I hadn’t thought about journals and such – I’d definitely have to grab all the Moleskines with my writing notes in them. My photos are mostly safe on my hard drive, which is also on my what-to-save list. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Questions of Book Lust | Ruby Bastille

Leave a Reply

