FBFF: Technology

This month’s FBFF is about the technology tools we use as bloggers.  Now you’ll get to see exactly how much time I spend on a computer…

1. What are the tools you use to blog?
Wordpress (of course) is my main tool, and it makes blogging really simple.  Knowing just a bit of HTML really helps when creating the layout, along with having resources like graphic-design sites and tutorials, color-scheme generators, and backgrounds (thanks, Jessica!).

Other online tools that I use for research and promotion are other fashion blogs and my Facebook, Twitter, and PinterestGoodreads helps me with Top Ten Tuesday and other book-related posts.  I have a tumblr but I’m afraid to use it because every time I do, two hours disappear without me noticing.

As for physical tools, I rely solely on my laptop.  My phone has Internet capability, but I don’t like posting or responding to comments on it, either because WordPress doesn’t work well on it or I can’t figure out how to make it work.

2. What technology item is on your wish-list?
Honestly, nothing.  My laptop is purring along, I have two wonderful cameras, a functional Ipod, and a smartphone.  I’m covered.  I’m  beyond covered.  The only thing I kinda-sorta might be tempted to get – and it causes me physical pain to admit it – is a Kindle, since it would really be useful for travel.

3. Through the barrage of posts, tweets, pics, poses, messages, etc…how do you avoid becoming a slave to the constant infiltration of information?
I don’t check every blog on my list every day, and I only check Twitter every other day or so.  I have this blog set up to update Twitter whenever I post, which saves me from having to post myself and risking getting sucked into an hour of Twitter-lurking.  I could probably generate more traffic if I spent more time on other blogs, but I prefer having a life…even if that life mostly involves reading.

As for the pics and poses, to be honest, I just don’t follow too many fashion blogs.  I can usually tell very quickly if a blog is going to interest me or help me grow in terms of blog networking – if it does, it goes on my blogroll; if it doesn’t, I probably won’t go back.  By limiting the pages and resources coming at me, I limit the likelihood of my head exploding from too much information.  Plus I’m sure to develop my own style (sartorially and in my writing) rather than the style I feel like I “should” have as a style/self-image blogger.

Check out the other entries here!

4 thoughts on “FBFF: Technology

  1. I found it really interesting to read your answers, and I particularly liked your answer to no. 3. I wish I could be that selective, but I do get caught up. As for fashion blogs I love reading them, but I try to limit myself to the ones that I find inspiring when it comes to developing my style. I’m considering switching to WordPress, but I’m just afraid that I’ll make a mess of everything, I know virtually nothing about HTML.

    Thanks for leaving your nice comment on my blog:)

    • Yeah, there are so many fashion blogs out there – and so many good ones! – that it’s hard sometimes to keep focused on the ones that really relate to you and your style.

      I have always used WordPress, so I’m afraid I don’t have much advice for switching – I think a few FBFFers have, though, so maybe you could email everyone!

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  2. Yah, I feel the same way about Kindles! Not sure if I”m actually going to follow through and buy one yet, but I did borrow’s a friends for a while and it was actually quite nice. Still prefer actual books though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

