Top Ten Tuesday: Spring To-Be-Read

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week we will post a new Top Ten list  that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join.

My entire life is a gigantic to-be-read list.  I can’t sort them out seasonally like I can with upcoming movies.  Even though I’ve been on a reading roll, I’m not sure I can pull off another ten books in three months.  A couple of those were YA and not the heavy stuff I intend to read now.

Realistically I’ll probably only get to five books this season, so I’m going with a short list so I don’t feel like a failure when I don’t read another 10 books.

1. “The Help” by Kathryn Stockett (finish).  Yes, I’m finally reading this!  I’m not sure what I think yet – I’m impressed at each character’s unique voice, but the white-savior arguments I’ve heard do hold water.

2. “East of Eden” by John Steinbeck (finish).  This book is blowing me away.  It’s long, with intimidatingly tiny print, but it’s surprisingly easy to read and so beautiful and full of symbolism and oh Steinbeck, I’m sorry I ever doubted you.

3. “Notes from a Small Island” by Bill Bryson.  It’s about England!

4. “The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest” by Stieg Larsson.  It’s finally in paperback! Now all three books are sitting neatly on my shelf, and soon I’m going to re-read “Dragon Tattoo” and finally read the rest of the trilogy.

5. “Fragile Things” by Neil Gaiman.  Short stories I grabbed during the Great Borders Closing of ’11 and never got to reading.

6. (okay, 6, just in case) “Brave New World” by Aldous Huxley.  It’s been a while since I’ve read this but I want to give it another go.  It’ll fulfill my banned book requirement on my 2012 reading list, too.

What are you hoping to read this spring?  Check out the other TTT lists here!

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Spring To-Be-Read

  1. I also don’t know if I can pull off 10 books in the upcoming months, so hopefully no one holds me to my list. 🙂 Your choices here are great! I absolutely loved East of Eden and it’s still one of my favorites of Steinbeck’s work; I’m glad you’re enjoying it too. I also tore through Larsson’s trilogy, so I imagine those will fly by for you. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your picks! Check out my list at Bookwanderer!

    • I had only read shorter Steinbeck works in school, so I’m excited about trying something longer. Thanks for your comment!

    • Seriously, those books have been on my shelf for at least a year now, waiting for Hornet’s Nest! I still have no idea why the paperback took so long.

  2. I haven’t read ‘The Help’ yet, but I know I’ll love it. I saw the film and it really spoke to me. Called my Mom and talked to her all about it. She was a part of that era. I’ve heard the book is amazing.

    • I’m not really convinced that “The Help” is worth the hype, but for the most part it’s a good read. I’m definitely interested in seeing the movie.

  3. I just discovered “Fragile Things” in the field hut at the opposite end of the island! I was stoked and it was great. Really dark at times, but brilliant, as usual. I think ‘Sunbird’ was my favourite, and you should maybe skip reading “The Problem of Susan”, unless you’d like the Narnia books ruined for life.

    • I’m literally imagining that as a video-game looting scene – “You have found Fragile Things! Equip item!”

      Good to know about the Susan story…Neil Gaiman, what were you thinking??

Leave a Reply

