Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’d Play Hooky With

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week we will post a new Top Ten list  that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join.

I can tell I’m getting old because I look forward to vacations specifically for the extra reading time.  I’m going to Hawaii in June and no one can quite grasp that even though I’m a twentysomething, I really do prefer reading and relaxing on the beach to tanning and tropical clubbing.  Okay, maybe that just makes me a nerd, and not old.

Hmm.

Anyway, here are ten books I’d enjoy skipping out on my responsibilities to lounge around with.

1. The Hunger Games trilogy. I could probably read the entire trilogy in one weekend, especially since I’d want to pretty much skip “Mockingjay.”

2. “Oathbound,” “Oathbreakers,” and “Oathblood” by Mercedes Lackey.  Shameless badass girl-power fantasy-warrior stories, giant spirit-wolf included.

3. The Sandman series by Neil Gaiman.  I’ve only read the first four or so, and I’d love to sit down and peruse them all.

4. “The Eyre Affair” by Jasper Fforde.  I haven’t read any of these books, but they sound like good vacation reading.  They’ve been recommended to me repeatedly.

5. “Ender’s Game” by Orson Scott Card.  Now that I’ve read Hunger Games, people are jumping down my throat about “Ender’s Game.”  I’ll have to read this pretty quick since a movie is in the works.

6. “Divergent” by Veronia Roth & following books. Hopefully these live up to the hype of being the next Hunger Games.

7. “The Other Boleyn Girl” by Philippa Gregory.  It’s a big book, but if I spent a few cozy days reading, I could get through it, and that would be a lot of fun.

8. “A Study in Sherlock,” edited by Laurie R. King.  It’s a Sherlock Holmes anthology that includes a story by Neil Gaiman.  SHERLOCK AND NEIL GAIMAN.

9. Anything else by China Mieville.  Reading “Perdido Street Station” demanded a lot of focus and an occasional “wait, what?” and a few minutes of flipping back pages or re-reading paragraphs.  I’d need a full day at least to devote my attention to these dense, mind-bending books.

10. “The Lord of the Rings” by JRR Tolkien.  Nothing sounds more pleasant than curling up in blankets by the fire with a giant mug of hot chocolate and the Fellowship’s adventures to read about.

What books do you like to run away with?  See the other Top Ten Tuesday entries here!

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’d Play Hooky With

  1. I don’t think I made it past the first chapter of Ender’s Game, but it’s still on the list. I would run away with the Mistborn saga without hesitation, as well as pretty much anything by Haruki Murakami. His stuff gets trippy, but it’s usually worth the effort.

    Another trip so soon! Will it be just you and Kevin?

    • Yeah, I’ve heard that Ender’s Game is both the greatest thing ever and the most boring thing ever. I feel like it deserves a shot, though. Murakami is on my list as well.

      This is actually a trip with girlfriends to celebrate someone’s graduation!

  2. I’m with you on the Hunger Games! It would be a great series to play hooky with. Maybe even finish up the day watching the movie? Sounds like a great way to blow off work 🙂

    Your Hawaii trip sounds like fun!

  3. Ooh, if that’s the Neil Gaiman story I’m thinking of (A Study in Emerald?) it’s suuuuper good and creepy and Lovecrafty in the best way.

    I played hookey basically all Friday evening with In Cold Blood until I finished it, and now I’m tempted to start The Knife of Never Letting Go, even though I should just do some dishes and then go to bed. It’s an addiction.

Leave a Reply

