Tuesday Quotes, Now Available With Rant

“[Advertisers] butt into your life, take a cheap shot at you and then disappear…They make flippant comments from buses that imply you’re not sexy enough and that all the fun is happening somewhere else.  They are on TV making your girlfriend feel inadequate…You owe the companies nothing.”

Banksy, “Wall and Piece”

It’s been floating around the blogosphere for a while now, and I had a hell of a time tracking down the source, and I don’t really condone vandalism*, but there are some grains of truth in that excerpt.  It’s alarming how much advertising has influenced society, and not just in the Mad-Men “get people to buy these cigarettes” way, although that’s alarming in and of itself.  I’m referring more to the ingrained social practices, like women shaving, which were made up by advertisers to sell a product.  I’m referring to our standards of beauty which are defined and reinforced by the ads we see on TV and billboards and magazines multiple times per day, and the numerous ways in which those advertisements sell their products by making us feel ashamed of obscure body parts (like armpits).

Isn’t that bizarre?  I mean, think about it.  Why do I feel insecure about my pointy nose?  Because models and actresses have cute, unobtrusive noses.  Why are so many (like, maybe all) women insecure about Tummy Pooch?  Because models and actresses seem to have flat stomachs.  They don’t seem to have “problems” like these, so we should be able to look just like them, right?

They also have expensive beauty products and stylists and, oh yeah, Photoshop, but that’s a rant for another day.

I don’t even have any good solutions.  I just hope people think more critically about why they dislike certain aspects of their appearance and get to the root of why they feel that way, and if they should at all.  Because odds are good you already look and/or are fantastic.

*I know very little about Banksy and I don’t know if advertisements count as public property.  I’m all for making fun of Ronald McDonald and pointing out the skeeze factor of using teenage models as sex symbols, but I’m not really for breaking the law.  Sorry.  I’ll go get my white feather now.
3 thoughts on “Tuesday Quotes, Now Available With Rant

  1. That’s a great point. I’ve often found myself wondering, wait a second, who is the first person who decided that short eyelashes are inadequate and wrinkles need to be eliminated…basically how did so many natural parts of our lives come to be so demonized as things that need to be fixed?! Like you I feel like I don’t necessarily have any solutions, but with posts like this, bringing up the awareness about changing our thinking is an awesome start 🙂

    • Thank you! 🙂 You’re right, I hadn’t even thought about eyelashes (or lip color, or eyelid tone…), but seriously, who’s paying that much attention to eyelash length anyway?

      Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

