FBFF: One-Time Wears

Today’s FBFF topic is the one-time use phenomenon. We’ve been reading a number of posts lately about only wearing something once and how many bloggers are accused of this. 

1. Are you a one-time wearer?
Very very rarely.  I’ve only purchased one item of clothing knowing that I would most likely never, ever wear it again, and that was my wedding dress, and I’m heartbroken that it’s going to sit in a box for the rest of forever.  If a regular piece of clothing doesn’t get worn again, it’s because I discovered it fits weirdly or can only be worn under very specific circumstances, and I usually end up donating those.

2. Do you feel the need to purchase something new for an evening out or a special event?
Oh, totally.  I love any excuse to buy new clothes.  However, I also love what’s already in my wardrobe and look forward to the opportunities to wear the fancier pieces I already owm.

3. Re-mixing is something a lot of bloggers are proud of being able to accomplish – are you a re-mixing pro or do you shy away from posting items frequently? Why?
Honestly, I had to re-read this a few times, because why wouldn’t you remix?  You guys don’t honestly have enough clothing that you never have to wear the same item more than once, do you?  Do you?!

Okay, maybe you do, but I don’t have the budget or storage space to allow me to buy a ton of clothes for the sake of not having to re-wear anything.  I like having new things, sure, but it has never occurred to me to buy an ordinary piece of clothing, like a shirt, knowing that I will wear it once and then never again.  Where’s the fun in that, anyway?  It seems like you’d just be playing dress-up, not building a personal wardrobe – which is fun, but not a personal priority for my clothing.  I remix the hell out of my wardrobe.  I’ve gotten braver when it comes to colors and patterns and I try to only post an outfit when it’s something fresh and unique, even if you’ve seen all its components before.

4. Do you have a clothing budget or are you an impulse buyer?
Uh, I impulsively buy within my budget?  I have budgets for individual items – usually no more than $30 for a shirt, $50 for jeans, that kind of thing.  I also don’t go on seasonal splurges, although I’d really love to.  My moods or hormones or stress levels or something give me an urge to shop nearly every six weeks like clockwork, and usually at those times I allow myself to buy one or two inexpensive items, just to shut the voices up, otherwise it’ll build up until I find myself leaving the mall with four bags and $200 of new credit card charges.  I should probably find another way to deal with that.

5. Do you find yourself bored when reading a blog in which clothing items are often remixed and appear frequently?
Nope.  It inspires me.  It’s easier for me to try new things with the clothes I have than to try to get new ones, and I admire the creativity that goes into remixing.

7 thoughts on “FBFF: One-Time Wears

  1. I love to shop, but really love re-mixing! There is a challenge in creating a new outfit. I wear things to their death…then I can justify buying something more expensive…it’s the old “Cost per wear” way of reasoning!

    • Thanks! I had been reading some other bloggers’ discussions about one-time wears and apparently there are people who buy something, take a photo with it, then return it! That just seemed weird and slightly dishonest to me, but I guess to each her own.

Leave a Reply

