Cardi-Free Week: Day 1

A weird thing happened this weekend.  It was…

…sunny.

The forecast called for rain all this week, but now they’re sprinkling in a couple days of sunshine, maybe more out of optimism than any real meteorological indication.  Frankly, I don’t trust them.  After the winter/spring we’ve had, I’m not convinced that Washington is going to be reliably sunny until August, if ever.

And I am so unbelievably tired of my winter clothes, specifically my cardigans.  Every single day it’s been cardigans.  Sometimes I’ll switch it up and wear a long cardigan or a drape-front cardigan.  Woo.

So, this week, under the assumption that it’s not going to dump freezing rain, I’m going cardigan-free.  Time to break out the blazers and locate some layers and just wear something different for once.

Sweater: Express
Jeans: LEI, from Macy’s
Tee: Ross
Shoes: Liz Claiborne, from DSW
Necklace: gift
Nails: Essie in Angora Cardi
Earrings: gift, vintage

The sweater has a long-sleeved tee under it, same trick from the button-down shirt outfit I posted earlier.  Not the most exciting outfit ever, but this sweater doesn’t get out much, and hey, it’s warm.  Here, have an exciting pose instead:

Fabulous.

This sweater…I don’t know, you guys.  I like the styling and the rolling collar thing, but it rides up and the color isn’t great.  But I can’t bring myself to get rid of it.  It’s a good base for some more lively accessories, like the purple shoes and these guys:

I love these earrings, but they make talking on the phone kind of a challenge.  Luckily I get approximately two phone calls a week at work, so I can wear my dice-sized bling without too much discomfort.

Later this week: blazers, belts, button-down shirts, skirts, and many other things that aren’t cardigans.  Stay tuned!

7 thoughts on “Cardi-Free Week: Day 1

  1. But your nailpolish has “cardi” in the name! I don’t know…I suspect the sensible layer isn’t ready to let you out of its clutches yet 😉

  2. I can totally relate to what you’re saying, I’m in a bit of a cardigan rut myself and longing to get out of it! Blazers are a good alternative, and I actually need to buy one or two new ones for spring, as the ones I own are wool blend and really warm.

    • I’d really like a couple lightweight colored blazers for summer, but so far I’m not having any luck finding any. I think everyone else has the same idea! 🙂

Leave a Reply

