FBFF: Outfit Planning

This week’s Fashion Beauty Friend Friday theme is outfit planning, a subject near and dear to our coordinating-obsessed hearts.

1. How do you go about picking your outfit for the day?
If I don’t lay out what I’m wearing the night before, I’m pretty much guaranteed to be late for everything and hate how I look the next day.  I pile everything up on my dresser, even my socks and underwear, so I’m definitely good to go.

2. Do you try stuff on and then take pics to see how it looks, like Cher in “Clueless?”
The only time I take photos is for outfit posts, which I try to do consistently if infrequently.  Outfit posts are time-consuming, and for the couple times I’ve done weeklong “challenges,” I find the thing that gets challenged most is my schedule and my ego, not my confidence or my personal style.  Everything boils down to how good I look in the photos, and how the posts and their comments validate me, which is not a direction I want to go with this blog or my life.

(Incidentally I don’t think I’ve ever seen “Clueless,” so maybe that’s exactly what I am doing.)

3. Are you consistent in your planning or lack thereof, or is your planning limited to special events?
I lay out a few days’ worth of outfits if I’m going to do a challenge or if I want to wear something that I haven’t worn in a long time.  Obviously I’m extremely careful with planning what to wear on a vacation, although I always end up bringing more clothing than I really need.

4. Do you have a way of keeping track of which outfits you wore when?
No, but I don’t really mind.  When I did 30 Days No Repeats, I just scribbled down what I had worn in a chart in a spiral notebook, but aside from that, I don’t keep track.  I do find myself going through phases of wearing the same dress on Tuesdays or whatever, but when I notice that happening, I make the effort to switch things up!

5. How do you come up with new clothing combinations?
I lay things out to see which colors work well together, but that’s about it.  Often bloggers will give me a new idea, like treating olive as a neutral a la Anja’s Paper Doll Project outfit, but I don’t usually research new outfit ideas.  That just leads to me wanting to buy new things.

Read the other FBFF entries here!

One thought on “FBFF: Outfit Planning

Leave a Reply

