Top Ten Tuesday: Online Reads

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week we will post a new Top Ten list that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join.

This week we’re talking about our favorite online reads.

1. Hark, a Vagrant This conversation happened recently:

Me: “So what other webcomics do you read?”

Friend: “Well, it sounds really dumb, but it’s this girl who does historical comics…”

Me: “Kate Beaton?!”

Friend: “Yeah!”

Me: “Kate Beaton’s AWESOME!”

And it’s true.  Kate Beaton IS awesome.

2. Already Pretty was one of the first blogs I ever read, and it remains an excellent source of body-image inspiration and advice.  Sally gets to the point and doesn’t ever back down from trying to convince every reader that she is worthwhile.

3. The Mary Sue is chock-full of nerdy feminism, art, movie news, and other geeky things that make me happy, like the fact that they’re making a sequel to “Blade Runner” and it’ll star a woman.

4. Foodimentary has a food for every day, complete with fun facts and mouthwatering pictures.  My birthday is National Grand Marnier day, so there you go.

5 & 6. Tea and Cookies and Love and Olive Oil are two of my favorite food blogs.  They both have scrumptious photos, delicious recipes, touching anecdotes, and useful tips.

7. Yes And Yes is up there with Already Pretty as my all-time favorite self-image blog.  Yes And Yes does interesting profiles on unique women, gives advice on pretty much everything, and makes the journey to higher self-esteem really fun.

8. Dooce.  Oh, Dooce.  Dooce is incredibly controversial because she’s a mom and she swears and is divorced.  The title of her motherhood book is “It Sucked And Then I Cried,” which should pretty much tell you all you need to know about how completely hilariously flippant she is.  “Flippant” doesn’t even begin to cover it, actually, so go check it out.

9. Tripping Over Books is one of my favorite book blogs because Amy writes shamelessly and hilariously like I talk to my friends – as in, in all caps, making up swear words, and squeeing over cartoons that people our age should not feel the need to watch.

10. Everything Cleolinda says.  I occasionally go back to Livejournal just for her.  She is my pop culture barometer, nerdy and biased though it may be.

Honorable mentions:

Comingsoon.net fills my movie-news cravings.

The Oatmeal makes funny stuff.

Mark Reads and Mark Watches, although I have to stick to the archives because I haven’t seen Buffy or read all of Sandman.  Still, reading over the stuff that won’t spoiler-ize me is amazing and awesome and full of caps.

Find some other great reads here!

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Online Reads

  1. I loooove Kate Beaton! Make sure to follow her on Tumblr too, if you haven’t already! That’s usually where I see her updates. 🙂 And I can’t believe I forgot the Mary Sue…I included two nerdy sites on my list but should have had three. Thanks for sharing your choices!

    • I think I might be following her, but every time I go to Tumblr, three hours of my day disappear. (I see you listed it as a time-suck so you know exactly what I mean.) She’s on Twitter, which keeps me updated enough!

  2. Favorite food blog: http://thursdaynightsmackdown.com (Michelle is hilarious and sweary and makes good food, too)

    Favorite celebrity blog: http://blog.amandapalmer.net (she rambles a bit, or a lot, but AFP puts it all on the table and has awesome thinky-thoughts about the music industry)

    Favorite illustrated blog: http://www.booksofadam.com/ (occasionally a bit judgy, but mostly hilarious, and I like that he openly admits to loving Teen Mom)

    You’ve got a solid list here, yo. There’s so much internet out there, it’s nice to be able to find the good parts.

    • I always forget about both Amanda Palmer’s and Neil Gaiman’s blogs, but they both write beautifully. (Their writeups about their wedding, awwww.)

      One list reminded me of Single Dad Laughing (who wrote that amazing “I’m Christian Unless You’re Gay” piece a while back) and another introduced me to Get Off My Internets, which is my new favorite when it’s not being needlessly mean-spirited.

Leave a Reply

