Breaking Out Of Labels

I catch myself dismissing clothes because I’m not the person who wears “that type” of thing.  I have a thrifted black “leather” coat in my closet that I rarely wear because I’m not the kind of person who wears black leather.  I held out against skinny jeans for a long time, initially because I thought they looked terrible on everyone, and then because I didn’t think I had the right body or level of coolness for them.

Eventually, though, if you feel tempted to try something, you have to take Nike’s cue and just do it.

One of my friends said recently that it had been a long time since she’d felt sexy.  Her solution: have a boudoir photo shoot.  I’ve never done anything like that before, and I’m not too comfortable with feeling sexy myself (despite doing bellydance for four years…how did that work out?), but it should still be a fun way to celebrate our bodies with talented friends we trust.  I already have butterflies about it, even though we have no real plans to ever actually do it.  I think if I just grit my teeth and dive in, though, I’ll have a fun time.

A different friend is getting married in September.  While shopping for her wedding dress, she had to confront her notion that she was the kind of person who is just “cute,” not “beautiful” or “glamorous.”  Ultimately, she realized that she has the right to feel like whatever type of lady she wants for her wedding day, so she’s going to wear a glamorous dress that will make her feel truly beautiful, not just “cute.”  If she’d limited herself to just the kind of dress that she felt she should wear, she would have missed out on nothing less than her dream dress.

As for me, I turn 25 this weekend.  I’m tired of being shy and afraid and uncertain, and I feel like it’s about time I got my butt in gear and just did the things I’m afraid of doing – like wear that leather jacket.  Why waste your time being afraid, especially over something so simple as your clothing?

One thought on “Breaking Out Of Labels

Leave a Reply

