Outfit Post: Brown Skirt Redux

When I first started this blog three-ish years ago, this is what qualified as a daring outfit:

I think the only reason I considered it daring was because the skirt and shoes were not black.  Somehow I’ve never really gotten beyond neutral shoes, even though I’d like to, and these purple heels were, at the time, my fashion Everest.  I saw, I wore, I conquered…and that right there is pretty much what I initially considered the cutting edge of my personal style.

Luckily, in the ensuing three years, I saw new styles and met new people and actually developed a little as a person, and this is what I’ve come up with:

Shirt: H&M
Skirt: Anthropologie
Heels: Liz Claiborne, from DSW
Cardigan: Nordstrom Rack
Belt: Target
Earrings: Hawaii market
Necklace: gift

Same skirt, shirt, and shoes, plus cardigan, belt, and jewelry.

There’s still a high possibility that in three years I’ll be embarrassed that I ever shared that outfit with the Internet, but at the moment, I’m pretty pleased with it.  It looks more like an outfit and not just like clothes.  It’s style, not just necessity.  It may be weird to some or boring to others, but it’s progress for me, because whew, I’m glad I’m not the same person I was three years ago, especially sartorially.

Do you ever cringe at past outfit posts?  When did you start to notice a real turning point in you personal style?

Leave a Reply

