30 Days No Repeats: The Summer Edition

I last did 30 Days No Repeats in January 2011.  It was…okay, “fun” may not be the right word, but as challenges go, it was pretty cool.  I gave a lot of neglected items a second chance, tried some new color combinations, and generally came out of my shell sartorially.  I always intended to do 30DNR again (it’s on my 101 In 1001 list), and since the last time I did this challenge was in winter, I figure summer is a pretty good time for Round Two.

(Dear God, please let August be nice, amen.)

My rules will be as follows:

1) No outfit may be reworn.

2) No piece may be reworn more than twice for tops, three times for bottoms.

3) Shoes may be reworn as often as needed because you know what, I don’t own that many shoes.

Alright, let’s do this thing!

Day 1:

Tee: Target
Cardigan: Nordstrom Rack
Skirt: thrifted, Loft
Sandals: Naturalizer, from Macy’s
Necklace: Monsoon
Earrings: gift

So, you know how 75% of “dry-clean only” stuff you can machine-wash on gentle or handwash and everything will be okay?  This skirt was in the 25%.  I got lazy and washed it in the machine…and something went wrong and now the lining pokes out the bottom.

Aw, my lining!

And you know when you’re wearing a long necklace and you get that boob-wrap thing going on?

Yep.

Any previous 30DNRers have suggestions for a successful challenge?  I’m looking at you, Tia/Mia and Katie.  (Also taking suggestions for salvaging a warped skirt lining.)

2 thoughts on “30 Days No Repeats: The Summer Edition

  1. If you hem the lining slightly, that should work, right (says the girl who doesn’t sew)? The black band at the bottom of the skirt gives you some wiggle room for error.

    As for advice? I’m a big fan of throwing all options together in a pile on the bed and seeing what lands next to what. Fashion craziness!

    • Yeah…I may resort to hemming. The lining is the dry-clean-only polyester bit, though, so I’m pretty sure that rules out ironing and most other tricks to make hems look nice.

      And that’s why I buy thrifted things. 😦

Leave a Reply

