30 Days No Repeats: Days 2 & 3

Day 2:

Top: The Limited
Necklace: Gift
Earrings: Claire’s
Jeans: Gap Outlet
Shoes: LifeStride, from DSW

I finally got my hair cut at a place that was both affordable and not intimidating, but I left out a key instruction: keep it long enough to ponytail.  Now I have layers in the back that are just barely long enough to fit under an elastic, but the result is a poofy ponytail that falls apart easily.

/firstworldproblems

This outfit wasn’t so much an experiment in pieces as it was in makeup.  That is a BRIGHT blue top and BRIGHT pink lipstick, neither of which make public appearances often, and certainly not together.

But I think it turned out pretty good. (Well?  Good?  It’s Friday, so grammar has taken a backseat to relaxing and watching the Olympics.)

Okay, it doesn’t look too pink in the photos, but I promise, it’s REALLY BRIGHT.  If you saw me in person, you’d be like “Whoa, Laura, you’re wearing lipstick!”  And I’d be like “Yeah!”

I had fun experimenting, but I’m not really planning to dive back into a look like this anytime soon.  I’m way more comfortable in the bohemian, sweet, earth-tone looks than the 90s boldness.  I felt like I was in costume all day.

Plus, when your bright-pink lipstick starts to come off, it’s way more noticeable than your usual nude shades.  (That’s assuming you remembered to put on lipstick at all…)

Day 3:

Top: Loft Outlet
Jeans: Loft, thrifted
Belt: Kohl’s
Sandals: Naturalizer, from Macy’s
Earrings: JC Penny

Today, in my air-conditioned office, my thoughts went mostly along the lines of “it’s cold in here, why did I wear open-toed shoes?”

Then I went outside, whimpered “Why am I wearing jeans?” and changed into a dress as soon as I finished taking a photo.

These jeans, though!  I love these jeans.  I think they’ll look good forever.

Leave a Reply

