30 Days No Repeats: Days 14-15

I’m not sure the Northwest has ever been this hot.  Ever.  It has never ever been as hot as it is this week.  It’s a little miserable, but I’m also kinda grateful for it, because hey, the sun is out and it’s not raining!  And I do love me some not-rain, even if it’s breaking triple-digit temperatures.

Day 14:Dress: Kohls
Belt: Forever 21
Earrings: gift
Shoes: Macy’s

I used to wear these earrings all the time for bellydance performances, and it had never really occurred to me to wear them in “real life.”  They worked out quite nicely.

Day 15, in which I wield a fan, because seriously:

Tee: Ann Taylor Outlet
Pants: Banana Republic Outlet
Wedges: LifeStride, from DSW
Necklace: gift
Earrings: Claires
Headband: Penneys

I had this idea that linen pants would be the perfect solution for my casual-but-chilly workplace conundrum.  Then I discovered that irons were invented because of linen.   I washed them and dried them and discovered they looked less like sleek, refreshing slacks and more like Mother Teresa’s face.   They’re high-maintenance, but they are mad comfy, surprisingly opaque, and actually just right for summer.  The only problem (okay, other than the wrinkle-tasticness) is that they’re a little long.  STORY OF MY LIFE.  So because they’re so long, the only shoes I can wear with them are these wedges…which are black.  I added the black headband to make the mixed-neutrals look like it was all on purpose.

While we’re on the subject, what other high-maintenance fabrics should I avoid?  I wasn’t really into the velvet trend from last fall (that’s gone, right?), but I assume velvet is a pain to care for.  What else?

4 thoughts on “30 Days No Repeats: Days 14-15

  1. I avoid satin because it also wrinkles super easily! I also tend to avoid silk garments except silk scarves because they’re dry-clean only, and I’m too lazy to deal with them.

    • True, silk is kind of a pain – I have one silk shirt that I can get away with gentle-washing in a garment bag, otherwise I would also pass.

  2. I kind of give linen a pass on the wrinkliness because hey, people know it’s wrinkly, and if it’s still breathable I don’t give much of a rip! Then again, I haven’t actually worn my own single pair of linen pants yet, so I might feel differently after a day of unavoidable wrinkles. (Anyway, you can’t really tell your pants are wrinkly in the picture…that’s the joy of black, I guess?)

    • The actual accrual of wrinkles during the day wasn’t so bad – it was what they looked like fresh out of the laundry that was scary. Solution: never wash pants?

Leave a Reply

